Birthday

Saturday was my birthday =)
And it was such an amazing day thanks to David, L and the rest of my friends and family.

Started with waking up bright and early (7am, eek!), turning on my phone and receiving a txt that was sent at 12.01am:

photobucket

It was so sweet – he was the first person to wish me a happy birthday =)

The reason I was up so early though was because L and I were going to a cake decorating class which was held 1 hour away from her place (I stayed over at her place). 
The cake decorating class was amazing to say the least. We made jungle themed cakes with little lion and elephant gumpaste figurines. I’m so glad I made it on a dummy cake, that way I can keep it =)
The instructor was so sweet, and even gave me a free tub of Satin Ice fondant as a birthday present! I’m definitely looking forward to more classes with her.

After the class L and I drove to my place, stopping at the costume shop to pick up my costume I was hiring. Oh, I forgot to mention… I held my party in the evening, it was a Grease themed party and it was pretty much compulsory to dress up!

I had to do so much stuff in such a short amount of time… Clean, blow up balloons and decorate, get my cake decorated, get food ready, get my costume on…
And go and see my parents!
But thanks to David and L, we managed to get everything done in time =)

I went and saw my parents, who of course wished me a happy birthday and gave me some presents. I wasn’t expecting much since part of my birthday present was my car that they helped me buy last year (they lent me the money, which I am paying them back each week). But I did get some neat presents…
– Some DVDs: Burlesque and two Robert Winston documentaries – Human Instinct and How to Build a Human (I’ve loved his work since I saw The Human Body when I was 9)
– Cake decorating equipment: cutters, piping nozzles, piping bags, some tins.
– Two Martha Stewart Cricut cartridges! I have been wanting these for ages! I got the All Occasions Cake Art and the Seasonal Cake Art cartridges =)
– A new Baby-G watch. I did know I was getting this since mum had me pick it out in Duty Free just recently. My old watch was dying so I needed a new one.

Grandad gave me the Source Code DVD, I had been wanting to see this at the cinema but missed the opportunity.

My friends all arrived and they looked amazing! There were multiple Sexy Sandy’s, Danny’s and some general 50’s style outfits.
We listened to music, ate food, chatted and even had a very crazy balloon war (it’s amazing what 20-somethings do when faced with lots of balloons!)

I got some really cute and really thoughtful presents from my friends.
N Facebook stalked my photo album for inspiration (you won’t live that down!) and got me two really cute cat ornaments. They’re almost like cartoon cat style, varnished brown ceramic. One looks like it’s about to pounce whilst the other one is sitting innocently.
A and J made me this huge gift pack thing. Well, everything was contained in a bucket and absolutely covered in silver heart confetti (which went absolutely everywhere, and I’m still finding bits of it!). In it was Chupa Chups, 4x cans of Red Bull, different types of cake sprinkles, cupcake wrappers, a massive block of cooking chocolate, some baking essentials, mini marshmallows, and little fairy cupcake toppers.
S and W (and S’s sister) gave me a little photo cube with Grease themed pictures in it, and a gorgeous sparkly silver cat necklace.

David got me the best of all presents though…
First off he gave me a white gift bag which contained two envelopes and a little teddy bear (she’s since been named Matilda. Don’t ask why because even I don’t know why!).
One of the envelopes contained the cutest Winnie the Pooh card and some lyrics from a song in my favourite Winnie the Pooh episode…

The other envelope contained a letter stating what my presents are. One of the presents was for him to take me out shopping for a pair of boots, although I could interpret "boots" anyway I wanted to. Since I already own a few pair of knee high boots and I barely wear them, I decided to go for some tramping boots because I love tramping and the outdoors, yet don’t actually have any tramping boots (my last pair died back in 2004).
Since David had to work on Sunday morning (just for an hour or so to take the boss to the airport), I went with him. I stayed in his car and went on Facebook and OD whilst he was gone. It wasn’t until he came back that we realised how suspicious I must have looked, sitting outside a diplomat’s residence in a parked car using a laptop!
Once he had finished his little car trip, we went into the city and started checking out the shops. First off we went into Kathmandu and looked at their shoes. David picked out some black Salomon tramping boots for me to try because "they look so mean!" (and that’s mean as in aggressive!) =P
After spending a few hours trying on boots at pretty much every single camping/outdoors shop, I knew which ones I would be getting… the ones which David initially picked out! He had fun mocking me at how methodical I was when I was trying each pair of boots on, but I have to do it that way… It’s the OCD part in me!

All in all it was a great day. A great weekend in fact!
And I’m definitely looking forward to trying out my boots =D

Log in to write a note
February 27, 2012

That took me forever to figure out how to post the video!