Rococo

Rococo by Arcade Fire

It’s strange.

This weekend, I did actual things! With actual people! For more than one day! What?!

Okay, fine, most of them don’t really give a shit either way, but you have no idea how nice it feels to be part of the social fabric once again, even if I’m in that tattered neglected corner.

I spent time with my ex housemate and her dog, and our mutual friend on Saturday. (I’m not sure if I explained our situation clearly, but uh, homegirl and I had not spoken since around the first of january)

I was confused. But, it seemed like it was better to go, make awkward (but really considering what transpired not that awkward) conversation, run around the beach, throw a frisbee (refer to my last entry), drink some nice beer, watch a sunset, and let the past fade.

It’s not like we’ll ever be the friends we once were, but I’ll be friendly, it seems petty not to be.  The wierd part was that after we got back from the beach (where she lost my frisbee, of course) she invited me over to her house with our mutual friend. More confused, but I went with the flow. We played apples to apples and drank more beer and then I remembered how well we know each other, but how much of strangers we are now. It’s like deja vu, but you can be certain that, in fact, it has happened before.

Overall I felt good about it. And I’m not blacklisted anymore (more accurately I was never blacklisted; I’m just over-dramatic).

And then today I also did fun things.

Went out to brunch with ex-neighbor and his friend. It was just slightly warm outside and all dem cherry trees are blooming and I get so jazzed on life every time I walk in the sunshine.

Most defs he is afraid to be alone with me, but I deserve that, I was sort of completely crazy at him. I think I’m lucky he still wants to talk to me…and if he knew what went on in my brain..well…we just wont tell him 😉 (that totally makes me seem normal…..)

If I were to describe today with a single item, it would be a mimosa.

Turns out if you use good orange juice and high quality champagne those things are awesome.

Today tasted like a good mimosa, a little sparkly, a little sweet, and after a sip, your throat is a little warm.

I just felt all this tension about my life relax out of my shoulders.

Hopefully the happy is here to stay

<3 Phoebe

 

Log in to write a note