Corr. Dav

dear rodd roofer guy,

JP tells me you’ve stepped up a notch on the roofing crew! Sounds fitting.

I’ve been wanting to write you back for such a while, but the computer access has been scarce. Looks like you and I have switched occupations: I am no longer working back breaking labour as you are now. And, instead, I’m into the organic permaculture. I’ve been to two farms so far. The first was just a little garden owned by the family of a treeplanting friend. Now I’m into a much larger garden in Quebec. Jean Cretien grew up in a small town called Shawinigan, QC. Where I am is about 30 minutes away from there…beautiful cottage country (13 Chemin de L’infinite/St. Mathieu du Parc, QC/G0X 1N0)

Lately I’ve been harvesting raspberries, zucchini, blueberries, mint, basil, spinach, buk choy, and lettuce and tomatoes, carrots, and many other things I can’t pronounce are on the way. Myself and 3 others (one being Joanna, the girl who came to our house with dred locks and showed you yoga poses for your back) have become somewhat of an elite garden team. The master gardened is an old bald, bearded french canadian man named Pierre who also teaches advanced courses with the Art of Living. Presently there are about 50 people here at the North American AOL Ashram, they’ve flocked from around the world. People have come from Columbia, Croatia, Germany, Siria, England, Russia, Dubai, India and many from the States (especially Massechussets). They’re all very interesting folk!

I’ve been labelled "The Mechanic" ever since I started going around repairing water pumps and 4-wheelers with flooded carbs. Now outsiders are coming from their cottages to seek my help with their machines. In exchange for repairing a tractor, a guy named Michelle gave me he 50cc dirt bike for a week. It’s incredible fun!

So I’ve just been buzzin’ around, doin’ gardening, landscaping, swimming, eating and building many many bicycles. All volounteer work, but it’s an incredible experience!

It’s my day off, and I’m going to watch pirated movies off the internet!

Ethwaudthe,

-phil

Log in to write a note