Uncomfortably Unproductive

Today was a holiday, for some people anyway.  When I was growing up, today’s holiday was known as Columbus Day.  Nowadays, I think they want to call it Indigenous Peoples’ Day or something silly like that.  I don’t care what they’re calling it these days.  It was a holiday today, which means that working today for me was definitely optional. 

I worked today.     

I was minimally productive, but rest assured that I went to that dungeon of an office early this morning with high hopes and good intentions.  It just didn’t pan out the way I had thought.  As I mentioned in a previous post, having to work from a foreign office and a cubicle that isn’t mine will never feel right.  It sure as hell didn’t feel right this weekend and it definitely didn’t feel right today.  I can’t wait until tomorrow when I’ll be able to return to my office and my cubicle.  If I’m going to be minimally productive, I’d prefer to be in a familiar space and at my own cubicle.

I’ll be comfortably unproductive tomorrow.

Speaking of tomorrow (10/15), tomorrow would mark the six-year anniversary of what would be the beginning of Mom’s last week on Earth.  That’s when her deterioration started and one from which she would never recover.

I want to write about that tomorrow though, rather than get into it today.    

Log in to write a note