Bringing Sense And Quality

User “rav diablo” once again provided me with some additional notes to some of my recent entries.  Again, in opting to sidestep the site’s note system, I have again replied to rav through a full entry as noted below.  His notes are down below in italics.

As I age, I find myself becoming more and more forgiving of the choices young people make. It is her loss, because she is missing out on your wisdom and insight, sacrificing it because either she or someone else told her that it is not “proper” to eat lunch with an older gentleman. It’s her loss, but she will not know this for many, many years.

I’m not as forgiving when it comes to things that I perceive as dumb and baseless, regardless of the person’s age who asserted such dumb and baseless drivel.  Wisdom and insight, I do have, especially when it comes to the work that I do.  Some people are grateful to receive it.  I think that some people use me to get it.  Others might hear and take it in for the moment, only to have everything I thought I had taught them dissipate into oblivion moments later.  Yes, sometimes retention is questionable.  Being an introvert, I typically prefer to eat lunch alone anyway, but when someone who I thought was a friend says something so fucking retarded, sadly, it tends to resonate and even linger much longer than it needs to be.  Suffice to say that I know it’s her loss, though it is unlikely to truly sink in until I have finally disconnected once and for all.

I’m glad you’re being compensated for other people’s fuck-ups. In my line of work (education), you either live with other people’s fuck-ups, or you do it on your own time. I remember I had to spend several hours last summer looking at students’ final exams from a class that I didn’t even teach, discussing some of the questions (one of which didn’t even have an answer!), and then re-grading all the exams. It took me about 4 hours, and I didn’t get a cent.

As far my continuing to do other people’s work, I won’t readily say that I’m compensating for other people’s fuck-ups, as much as I’m providing the quality of work that they could never dream of, much less come close to producing themselves.  It’s almost as if to say that, as far as management might truly think but never say, if we want something written and want it written with the utmost attention to detail and with proper grammar and syntax, then Visionary is our guy.  That truly is a damn shame that you received no compensation for your time, because at least for me, oh, I’m collecting some kind of monetary compensation for what I’m doing.  Management knows the time and effort that I’m going to exert, so they also know that they’ll get what they pay for.  Many of my co-workers might work 40 hours a week, or claim to come close to it, but their product is always subpar and substandard.  I call it taking pride in the work that I do.  Others seem to lack that pride, which itself, may be a sign of the times.  Then again, for me, I’ve always showed pride in everything I do, dating back to when I was in grade school.  I think that some people never learned how to do good work and at least in my workplace, it definitely shows.

I’m glad you’re being compensated for other people’s fuck-ups. In my line of work (education), you either live with other people’s fuck-ups, or you do it on your own time. I remember I had to spend several hours last summer looking at students’ final exams from a class that I didn’t even teach, discussing some of the questions (one of which didn’t even have an answer!) with my boss and the professor who taught the course, and then re-grading all the exams. It took me about 4 hours, and I didn’t get a cent in compensation. But I did save several students’ asses.

I’m not saving anyone’s ass, per se.  I’m just putting on a display for management, in that I’m showing them (not that I need to) that I enjoy what I do, that I’m willing to help others, and that when my name is on it, they should anticipate that whatever I’m turning in will definitely be of quality.  As far as regrading, I often get asked to proofread what others have written.  It’s been my finding that many of the people with whom I work aren’t versed in proper grammar, word choice, or even basic sentence structure.  Nearly everyone in that office is purportedly educated, some with higher degrees than the B.A. that I hold, but with the work that they’re putting out, I have my doubts.

Log in to write a note