An Afternoon At The Diamond

I sent this picture to a few friends, just to show them the vantage point from where I would be watching the San Diego Padres take on the visiting Houston Astros yesterday at Petco Park. This picture was taken about 3pm, 40 minutes before first pitch.

As for the game itself, the Padres would win the game, 4-0, with each run coming by solo home run, including three consecutive home runs (back-to-back-to-back homers, to use some baseball lingo) that were hit in the bottom of the eighth inning.
San Diego doesn’t have a vaulted history of post-season success when it comes to baseball, so when the Padres are playing this well late into the season, things at Petco Park are going to be electrifying come this time of year. Last night was no exception. And note that the Astros are a good ball club, so beating them two out of three games is definitely an achievement.
I was able to use those few hours at Petco Park to escape my mundane and drab life.
Now, as I write this, I have returned to that life.
As it stands, I await my next trip to the stadium for another much-needed escape.
Log in to write a note