Welcome to the occupation

‘pucker up for heaven’s sake, there’s never been so much at stake’ Placebo – Every me, every you

So off I went to the meeting in Gateshead, slightly apprehensive but hoping that it would just be something that was slightly irrevelant to my job but still important to the company as a whole. When I got there I chatted with some colleagues and the general mood was nervous. No-one was too sure what was going on, only that our regional director had red puffy eyes from crying for most of the morning (apparently this is a common way to handle a crisis!). We had to wait around for 25 minutes, which was terrible. By the time we were called into the boardroom my stomach was in knots & I was beginning to wish I hadn’t eaten breakfast.

We were then read an announcement which went out to all TMD employees at that exact time. It said how revenue was lower than expected from the sites, and whilst traffic to them was good, it was also below expectations. We kind of guessed what was coming. Our regional director struggled through the statement (kept choking up & having to have a quick sip of water) until the end and then we were told what we had, by now, guessed.

The sites will be re-intergrated back into the newspapers, with direct control returning to the newspaper editors. There will be some people who get to stay, but there will be significant redundancies. I think I kind of went into shock at this point. We were told that no jobs would be going straight away, but probably some time in late November, early December (‘Merry Christmas from TMD, now f*ck off) and every effort would be made to ensure that we were either placed elsewhere in the company, or given help in obtaining a new job. Plus we get a rather nice fat pay-off as well.

There is no definite word on who is to go yet, but looking at my role, I think it’s safe to say that I will be one of them. I mean let’s face it, I have barely enough to do now & there are 20 odd reporters downstairs who all manage quite well to do their own research so why would I be needed. It’s not being pessimistic, it’s being realistic.

We got sent home, given the weekend off & we now have centre meetings on Monday morning to choose our representatives for the consultation process. I will now have to sit back & wait for what happens next. I have a feeling the next couple of months will be very unstable.

But on a lighter note, I’m off to get my hair done & pick up Helen from the train station for a weekend of drinking and girlie gossip.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note

Aw, Im sorry. I guess the job hunting starts in earnest now. At least you might get a big fat cheque though 😉

Although this sounds terrible, this is quite possibly the best thing that could have happened. I’ve read all your entries about how much you despise your current job – this sounds like exactly the kind of push you need to find a brilliant one. And you get severance – who hoo!

what twigged said is true, this is probably the best thing that could have happened, considering you wanted to look for another job anyway (always the optimist, me!) 🙂 You’ll be fine, I know it…have a great weekend *hug*

This *might* be a good thing my friend. Thinking of you and hoping the hair looks foxy!

I agree with twigged, it’s just the break you need. Who knows what’s around the corner? A better job, better pay and more peace of mind (and of course a nice bit of cash to tide you over until then) Clouds and silver linings abound.

Yes, that kind of thing happens with surprising, and increasing regularity over here. In 5 years with one firm, we had four names, four business cards, four different personnel policies. If the managers had changed it might have been better, but only the good stuff went away. 😉 Peace and good luck lovie,

oh no! well, at least they’ll give you a nice severence package and now you don’t have to quit ( seeing you were getting fed up with them anyway). maybe something bigger and better is waiting around the corner?