She just wants to be

‘he is everything inside of you that you wish you could be’ if anyone can name the song & artist I will love you forever, it has been driving me crazy since Saturday evening.

Leeds is wet. Cold, windy and wet. I was warned when I moved to Newcastle that it rained more often than anything else, but clearly that person has never been to Leeds. I swear that as the train pulled out of the Leeds area the sky brightened and we were forced to ensure brilliant sunshine glaring into our eyes for the journey home. Apart from the cold, wind and rain Leeds was great. Apparently it’s great for shopping, but as nowhere was open I couldn’t vouch for this. I thought everywhere opened on Sundays these days, but apparently not. Probably just as well, as I have no money to spend, plus I’m waiting until we land in SA to buy stacks of cheap clothes, books, cds, etc.

Sum 41 kicked ass. They were great. Bouncy, loud and offensive. But if you are ever told that a venue is over 18s only, it’s a huge fat lie. Not only were there kids under 18, but there were kids as young as 10 or 11, all dressed in dog collars and glittery makeup. The only people older than us were the parents of these children who had decided to chaperone them. It was pitiful almost. And can someone explain to me the pure attraction in chucking round full bottles of water? I mean really, it’s not quite necessary is it? (excuse me, I am clearly far too old for all of this now). We decided that in future we shall attend gigs with seating and stricter door policies. I don’t need screaming children around me ruining the evening thank you very much.

Still waiting for something, anything from the writing job. An interview and nothing more would really do, just something to make me feel that I am not completely wasting my time with these damn application forms, which reminds me I still have one more to do.

The weekend was quiet, when we weren’t travelling to/from or staying in Leeds. We did dull household chores on saturday and watched the remaining football games on sunday evening. We seemed to have slipped into some sort of routine, which is both comforting and scary. Scary because I’m terrified of waking up one day and realising that we have missed out on some part of our lives. But then I remember that going out makes me feel old (and I’m only 25 so it shouldn’t) and that really I prefer the comfortable routine.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note

“Everything You Want” by Vertical Horizon. Good song. Next time use google if you’re looking for something. I swear by that search engine.

March 11, 2002

I guess the one positive about the drinking laws in the US is that at least you only have to be bothered by 18 and 19 year old underage drinkers and not 14-15 year olds….

I’ve never understood the water bottle phenomenon either. Why would anyone want to waste good water?! 😉

March 12, 2002

It’s not going out that makes you feel old, just where you go… try wine and cheese evenings and the opera, old thing! xx

RYN : thank you =)

March 15, 2002

ah well looks like I will just have to follow you here to read and leave notes…unfortunately i can’t afford the fee:))) Plus I am nt on much these days…just enuf to ,ake sure I don’t get deleted! Take care and huge hugs