Party hard

‘Every now and then I fall apart’ Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse of the heart.

First off, just to clarify something I said yesterday – it’s not so much the anthrax/white powder paranoia that is grating – although I do think the media should stop hyping every tiny thing up, claiming it could be anthrax when it turns out not to be – they should try reporting actual fact as opposed to half-assed ideas. But really it’s the plane paranoia that bugs me, I mean 2 orthodox jews say their prayers & the plane is stopped & they are questioned with regards to terrorist threats. It’s no wonder Islam claims it is a war against them, with that kind of attitude it will turn into anyone being victimised/treated differently because they aren’t white, god-fearing Christian Americans. Like I said, it’s a fine line between paranoia and alertness. Read this at Lincoln’s diary for a better explanation.

Anyway, the quote above is quite apt today. I fell apart on the A184 this morning on the way to work. Today is interview day, this is not a good start. There I was, in the right hand lane of the dual carriageway, driving along happily listening to my tape when rather disturbingly and suddenly the car lost power and died on me. On the second lane of a dual carriageway, in rush hour. It wouldn’t start, I couldn’t move it out of the way, so I had to call the AA. It’s a miracle they found me as I promptly burst into tears down the phone. It was not a fun morning. I called work & said I wouldn’t be in. I then tried the car again & it started, so I moved it off the road & waited for the AA. Of course when they arrived it started first time – bleeding typical. Anyway, he messed about for a while but couldn’t find anything wrong, so I drove off for a couple of miles with him following me to make sure I was ok. I decided to come home anyway and drove through the tunnel & down the coast road. Just outside Jesmond the engine started dying again, but luckily didn’t stall, as I was still in rush hour traffic. I managed to get home & it is going in the garage on Thursday morning. Christ alone knows what is wrong with it this time. As soon as I get the redundancy money it is going.

So I have a morning to kill until my interview in Newcastle. Still no word from Head Office as to the new structure, but I am hardly surprised. The stress is becoming almost second nature now, which can’t be good for me.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note

all the hype and panic is getting on my nerves too. Its just what the terrorists want. One killer attack, lots of rUmors, lots of panic, lots of hoaxers sending floUr in the post, more panic, life disrUpted .. and at no risk to the terrorists ..

Would it be trite to say that things can only get better? Perhaps. But I truly believe that they will. Thinking you you- good luck for your interview. And I’m glad to hear it’s not just me who cries at things like that!

Good luck! And thanks for the picture. Mumblegrumblegrrump

October 16, 2001

The same thing is happening here with the Media – the CBD was closed down today cause ppl were reporting that powder stuff everywhere. I wish the media would just leave it alone. It turned out to be a hoax but it has to make you wonder what kind of sick person would do that 🙁 Argh I think the car should go too hon – not good. And if it makes u feel batter I would have cried too!

October 16, 2001

Good luck tomorrow for the interview – I am sure you will kick arse:) *Goodluck HUGS* RYN: Its actually been just over a year I think since she left…..or will be just over a year by the time she comes back to visit – feels like it was just yesterday and years all at the same time LOL

A fine line indeed. On which side of that line do you consider me? 😉 Love,

Good luck, and thanks!

Q’s right. Terrorist means exactly that, creating terror – not necessarily throughss destruction. Whoever has sent the genuine letters has done enough to send an entire nation paranoid, and disrupted so many areas of daily life. And of course the sickos who think its funny to send hoax letters just add fuel to the fire. Good luck this afternoon – and with your car. They are such a pain!

October 16, 2001

Ugh cars 🙁 My car went through a period of conking out for no apparent reason – it either wouldn’t start or it’d stop while driving along. Garage couldn’t figure out what was causing it, but it had a service a couple of weeks later and the problem never happened again. I probably should learn some basic car maintenance sometime…

that whole crying down the phone thing is something I would do as well, but then again, i’m an emotional wreck most of the time anyway 🙂 *hugs* and good luck on the interview!

October 16, 2001

That’s so typical of cars.. on their best behaviour in front of AA or RAC people 🙂 Hope the interview went well..

October 16, 2001

I am less concerened with the terrorists than what we are willing to give up to be protected. I am also concerned with what we are becoming. The terriorist are a lot less of a threat than our own inner self. I am so sorry you had such a bad start. Cars seem to hate to go to interviews more than we hate it. Or it is a conspiracy on the part of the car to get us to interviews late?

I’m an American, but i’m glad i’m not a God fearing Christian one. Call me agnostic, please. i admit though, some americans can be paranoid yahoos. you’re right though, the media does play a big part in getting every one in a tizzy. i guess your spell finally made it over here, despite the delays. btw, thank you very much. good luck in Newcastle! *sigh* (too lazy to type my password)