Minority

‘look at the stars, look how they shine for you’ Coldplay – Yellow

Work nights out are, I have discovered, essentially the same no matter where in the country you are, or the company you work for. On Wednesday I had the opportunity to meet a guy I speak to on a daily, sometimes almost hourly basis. He manages half of the area I do allocation for and I was actually quite looking forward to putting a face to the voice. However because it was one of my managers I was forced to attend the drinking session on Wednesday night. First of all, why are team nights out always midweek? I mean, surely a Friday would make more sense, not having to go into work all hungover and all? But anyway. So I dragged Duncan along to the evening, not really knowing the few people that were going well enough to brave being there on my own. We went to Revolution, a vodka bar near the station. I remembered exactly why I stick to our local/favourite – because it is infinitely cheaper and quieter and generally nicer. God I sound so old.

Managers from all over the country were there and all were drinking weird cocktails involving vodka, some sort of juice and more alcohol. We flicked through the menu and decided that out of all of them vodka, sparkling wine and red bull sounded the most hideous. It looked hideous when I saw four team managers drinking it and they certainly didn’t look great the next morning. I stuck to the beer, trying sips of other cocktails, mainly cos vodka is guaranteed to make me sick in so many colourful ways.

The whole night just felt awkward. I, really, barely knew these people and the conversation seemed to some how, every time, end up turning back to work, which I’m sure made Duncan feel slightly left out (although at least he understood how I feel when we go out with BT people). But it also made me feel left out, as I really don’t care enough about the place to want to discuss it in a bar, above loud, thumping dance music.

I did get a letter from one of the companies I applied to this week. I thought that maybe it would be an interview but on closer inspection it proved only to be a letter saying they’d had loads of applicants and they were deciding on the interview shortlist now. If I haven’t heard by April 5th then it’s ‘thanks for applying, and good luck in your search’. If that happens then I will more than likely tell work I want a permanent contract and see how quickly one comes up. Whilst I am just about earning enough to stay afloat and not dip too heavily into my savings, a permanent contract would probably provide that little extra I need each month.

We booked our tickets to London today. Only six weeks until we head off out to South Africa. I am getting more excited by the day, slightly pathetic, but this has got to be one of those trips of a lifetime thing. Sometimes I even forget that I have to impress a whole bunch of people and make them at least like me enough for me to be, at some point in the future, part of the family.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note

well, good luck with work. enjoy south africa. and sorry you had to drink. 🙁 anyway, merry things to you.

March 23, 2002

I don’t think they’ll have any problem liking you. Let’s be honest, anyone that’s going to take Duncan on has got to be worthy of their eternal respect. ;o)

March 23, 2002

works do’s are always mid-week because weekend becomes decidedly Not Work and cuts in to Your Time and you wouldn’t want that. Not unless the colleagues really were friends and the conversation wasn’t about work. That’s my ha’penny’th of analysis anyway!

March 24, 2002

But vodka is joyous!

March 24, 2002

I personally think vodka is evil.. nasty stuff. Of course I’m only bitter because I can’t so much as smell it without wanting to be sick, and it’s always the cheapest drink to get on student nights. And Duncan’s family will adore you.. how could they not? 🙂 xxx

I’m absolutely positive that Duncan’s family will love you to pieces 🙂 Silly girl, just enjoy your holiday! And send me a postcard 😛

March 25, 2002

What’s pathetic about counting down to SA… I’m off shopping in Camden in 12 days time 🙂 I don’t hear people calling me pathe…. Oh 😉

March 26, 2002

Echoing all the above – there’s nothing pathetic about it at all, it will be the holiday of a lifetime, and Duncan’s family will LOVE you, stop worrying!