Holding on

‘We’re all looking at a different picture, Thru this new frame of mind’ Portishead – Glory Box

The interview was ultimately a waste of time. It was my own fault. I had been so convinced that they were interviewing me because they had to, that it never occured to me that maybe I should do some sort of preparation. So when I was asked a whole load of questions about the product I basically had to think on my feet and come up with answers that sounded like I knew what I was talking about. I think it was plainly clear that I didn’t though. But never mind. I’m still not convinced I want to stay within the company anyway.

On Tuesday they announced how many jobs would ultimately go in the redundancies – two hundred and thrity four jobs will be cut by 132. That’s more than they originally anticipated. Of course they are hoping that most of us will be sucked back into the company somehow, so it won’t look that bad. The company structure we have been promised this week is being put back a week – now there’s a surprise, so it’s another week of waiting. But on the upside, it looks like I will no longer be required to be in the office, and I’m hoping that after next week (or sooner if possible) Sarah will allow me gardening leave until December. The other good news is that if, from the structure, it is obvious my job is going I will get one-on-one counselling with HR (this isn’t the good news). I will still be paid until December BUT if I find another job in the meantime, I can leave & still get my redundancy pay-off – which is absolutely perfect for me! Either way now I am set to get a nice fat pay-in (unless by some miracle they decide to keep my job, which would be just damn well typical really!)

The car is in the garage again this morning. I swear they should just dedicate one bay to my car or something – I’m putting their kids through uni (well something like that anyway) I should get something in return. It turns out that the leads aren’t sparking properly or something, so it needs new leads which shouldn’t be that much. What with that & car tax at the end of the month, it will be damn tight again this month. But if I get gardening leave, I will definitely be selling the car not long afterwards. We can manage without it for a while. We might get a new one in the new year.

Went into town yesterday looking for a birthday present for Jenni – decided on some earrings in the end – but it meant I got to drag Duncan round some jewellers and start looking for my christmas present. We’ve decided that instead of going for the whole surprise thing & worrying over whether the other will like it, we’re just going to go shopping one day & pick. Less romantic I’m sure, but also less stressful for both of us. Duncan has already promised me a ring (not an engagement ring… I know what you are all thinking!) and I found a gorgeous one yesterday. He has no idea what he wants though, which could make choosing it slightly more stressful than we planned.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note

LOL! I hope everything works out for you! =)

*sighs* I know the added stress that the fear of being laid off can add. The good news is that your company is at least forewarning you. The company I was with just cut us all, and we only received 2 weeks severence 🙁 Anywho, I hope all goes well, and regardless of what happens, try to make the best use of your time.

At least you know you have the money coming whatever happens (unless of course they do keep you on – and I hope they don’t, you do sound like you could do with a change), and you’ve got a couple of months to look around. And don’t get too down about the interview – might not turn out to be as bad as you thought!

Oooooo!!! a “not” an engagement ring? i’ve heard of those. i think i may even have one. ;o) sorry to hear about the interview and the car. you might consider trading in the car for a nice durable pair of roller skates, they’re certainly reliable, at least. i’m sure your mechanic absolutley adores you. when it rains it pours, right?

October 18, 2001

Talking about Christmas presents.. in October. You’re either incredibly organised, or completely insane 😉

I’m a big Portishead fan myself. Fancy swopping jobs with me?

RYN Thank you for your note. I have no clue about how people can nominate for Readers Choice. I have been on that site a number of times but not recently. I do not know who is responsible for it ..can only imagine the D/M. Nice to hear from you…Alexias

Christmas present? Christmas present? Oh, please don’t talk to Helen 😛

Men never know what they want! Typical!!

one question: what the hell is ‘gardening leave’?! 😉