Do something

‘Don’t you know you’ve got your daddy’s eyes? Daddy was an alcoholic’ Starsailor – Alcoholic

Did I ever tell you that? That my dad is an alcoholic?He’s not the ‘get up at 7am & begin drinking vodka’ alcoholic – ala Meg Ryan in When a man loves a woman but he drinks way too much and won’t admit that he has a problem. He can’t go one day without a drink. When I was younger & drinking a hell of a lot more than I do now, it always worried me, somewhere in the back of my mind, that I would end up like him. But I guess the first step on the road to not ending up like him is knowing, or not wanting to, or something like that anyway.

I spent most of the weekend reading my new favourite magazine Mslexia. In an hour or so I am off to the library to do some research. I have a couple of ideas floating round in my head that I want to get onto paper at some point this week. I guess I should also get the cv sorted out and sent to them as well. It would help in the job hunting I’m sure!

I also watched football and cricket this weekend. My life is just a whirlwind of excitement. Speaking of whirlwinds and the like, did you see they named that hurricane currently destroying Cuba and heading for Florida ‘Michelle’. It’s quite disturbing to turn on the news & hear how ‘Michelle destroyed buildings, etc, etc’ I had to think for a moment about where I had been & whether I had actually destroyed anything. It’s far too early on a monday morning to deal with anything like that.

The UK is currently Harry Potter mad at the moment, after the premiere last night & all. We booked our tickets last week and are off to see one of the preview shows next Sunday. There were three films I was excited about this year, and I’ve had to wait until now to see the first of them. I really can’t wait to see it, even though the cinema will be full of annoying little children. The other films, for the record, are Lord of the Rings and Jay & Silent Bob strike back.

So today I’m going to spend a few hours in the library and maybe have a stroll round the shops & look for Christmas present ideas. I know, a bit too organised, but still, I have a ridiculous amount of presents to get. Failing that I shall just head off to the second hand book stalls and see what I can get there instead. Hmmmm… I think I know which of those two scenarios will actually happen. We had planned to go and see some fireworks tonight, but it looks like it’s going to rain, so instead we shall do what we have done every night for the last few & watch them from the window instead. All the view, with none of the hardships of cold, wind & annoying people. Sounds almost perfect.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2001

Eek Harry Potter *cower* It’s Lord of the Rings I wanna see…

Yes, we’re experiencing some Potter-mania here as well…anything to take the collective mind off our burning of international haystacks to find a needle. Have a great day darlin. Love,

The fear of ending up like my parents led to me being teetotal. My step-dad got completely wrecked one night, went outside, fell over, hit his read on the rockery and I can remember his friends screaming “Is he dead? Is he dead?”. I vowed there and then never to put my kids through what my parents put me through.

I used to worry that my mother was an alcholic and thus didn’t start drinking until well after most people I knew. I don’t realy have a point so i’ll move on!! Enjoy book shopping!

My Dad really WAS one of those drink at 7am alcoholics; it’s about WHY people drink rather than when and how much that makes them an alkie. V sad business, I can tell you.

Maybe you could start in to the demolition business? Previous experience demolishing Cuba etc?

I have actually done some of my christmas shopping already 😉 how sad am I?! By the way, they showed the Newcastle vs. Aston villa or whatever they’re called match on tv on saturday morning…i’m still trying to figure out how you find football exciting 🙂 Give me hockey anyday!!