Big time sensuality

‘Alcohol, a party time necessity’ Barenaked Ladies – Alcohol

Four days off and the last thing I wanted to do this morning was drive 40 odd miles in the driving wind and rain. But I did it, which is quite a miracle when you think that Duncan is off work today & staying in our nice warm bed seemed an infinitely better idea. But I can’t complain. At least this place still exists (until the next server crash anyway).

London was great. We had a nightmare journey down, getting stuck for an hour in North Yorkshire because of a crash & I admit I got slightly confused by driving round London. I found the hotel on the first shot, but discovered that there was no long-term parking in the vicinity & the one way system is a bugger. Eventually we parked at Paddington Station at the price of £14 per 24 hours. At least it was safe.

We made our way to the pub in Leicester Square & waited for those that are fast turning into the usual suspects I now drink in London with (minus one this time, who was missed) and we proceeded, yet again, to drink the pub dry. And we didn’t do that badly either. I was quite plastered by the end of it although not as bad as Helen who thought flashing her bra at a policeman (I think) was a great idea 🙂 hehehehe We then all went for Chinese & got properly ripped off. The wine was awful stuff & I never did get my seaweed, but I bet we got charged for it. Leinad managed to find us some dodgy minicabs back to the hotel, where we pretty much passed out.

Saturday we met one of Duncan’s friends for brunch and then went round covent garden, leicester square again, piccadilly circus & up regent street to catch a bus to Buckingham Palace. We stood with the tourists & got some photos & then walked across Green Park & went back to the hotel for a nap. Once refreshed we went down to Embankment to a South African shop there, and bought loads of food (bars of white milk chocolate with smarties or jelly tots in them, why do we not have these over here?) We took a price list & will be ordering from them repeatedly. We then walked along the river to Westminister, down past Downing Street to Trafalgar square, went round the national gallery before it closed & eventually got a tube back to the hotel & went for dinner.

We drove to my dad’s on Sunday & went for Mexican & had a lazy sunday afternoon before getting an early night. We left Norfolk yesterday morning & thanks to detours galore, took over 5 hours to do a 4 hour journey.

It was a great weekend, great to see everyone again & one of the first times in a long time that I have enjoyed the whole time I’ve spent in London. There were a couple of events over the weekend which saw me face up to various aspects of my past (more will be revealed, but I think I’m running out of space now), but it was surprisingly relaxing and not as expensive as I thought either.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note

Wow, you really did do the whole tourist bit, didn’t you? Don’t know how you managed it – I couldn’t even move properly till about 2pm Saturday! That chocolate sounds yummy….you’ll have to tell me where the shop is!

🙂 Love,

September 25, 2001

Sounds like you had a wonderful time.. glad it went so well 🙂 And just one more thing.. white chocolate with smarties in? Jealousjealousjealous.

mmmm white chocolate…*drool* sounds like a fabulous weekend. I miss the UK something terrible sometimes – even London! 🙂

Us Londoners just don’t seem to appreciate what’s around us- lived in London all my life and I haven’t even done half the things you did in your weekend. Right- I know what I’m doing this weekend then…

how did duncan and your dad get along? i hope good, since you love Duncan so much, i’m sure Dad couldn’t resist him either.

September 26, 2001

Sounds like a blast 🙂 Glad to hear you sounding so good! Peace,