Another brick in the wall

‘nobody said it was easy’ Coldplay – The Scientist

Really, I swear that applying for uni when I was 18 was much easier than this.

In a frenzied rush (cos, why do anything in good time when you can leave until 6 weeks before the application deadline for next september) I have been calling universities, writing to schools, calling distance learning people, arranging a reference and generally doing everything that everyone else probably did six months ago. I now have a reference sorted, thanks to my boss at work – I supposed to use my degree tutor but as I haven’t seen him since I graduated, I hardly think he’s capable of commenting on my suitability to teach, plus he left the uni I was at in mysterious and slightly dubious circumstances from what someone told me a while ago. I am signed up to sit Maths A-level (exams next summer and the following january) and am now waiting for the following: the uni prospectuses (is that the plural of prospectus? I wanted to write prospecti, but never mind!); confirmation that having half an a-level is perfectly acceptable as long as finish the rest soon afterwards; a school nearby to offer me a work placement (I have written to them, it’s not like I’m expecting them to turn up one day and offer me a place!); my old uni to provide a degree breakdown. Apparently a media studies degree can still relate to the national curriculum. How? Well, I took lessons in Information Technology, History (of film, but apparently it counts) and english language was a HUGE part of publishing studies. As long as this accounts for at least 50% it’s all relevant and could mean the maths a-level, whilst useful, would be slightly irrelevant (but always good to stretch the mind before I return to studying right? Anyway, I’ve started paying for it, so I have to do it!) This means I could just do a normal Primary PGCE and possibly teach English. Which is sooooo what I want to do!!!!

Away from uni organising chaos, I signed with a new temp agency last night. They have promised me a job with Proctor and Gamble doing admin (and no crappy customers to deal with) for more money than I’m on now, with no saturdays and ten hours shifts with 30 minutes lunch to do! All I need to do is wait for the next job, which they assure me is soon. Meanwhile I have 4 other agencies banging on my door (well, ringing my mobile) trying to get me to sign up with them as well. Looks like all I needed to do to escape this place was to actually make a huge effort. I have given up on publishing/media, what’s the point in getting some fancy job when I shall (hopefully) be in uni this time next year and getting a virtually guaranteed job by the end of it (in an industry that isn’t going to collapse cos of falling ad revenue or something!) My life appears to be getting sorted, and I feel fantastic about it.

Until there is a next time…

xx

Log in to write a note

Hoorah!

November 6, 2002

Oooooh I want to do PGCE too. Secondary English / History! It is really exciting! RYN LOL Dopey brothers! The other day mine came to babysit for me. He went out with the boy. They came back. I came back. He’d left my keys in the front door. What a pillock! lol (either that or cry!) Xx

well it’s about time! (kidding) 🙂 I couldn’t be happier for you *HUG* Whee!

November 6, 2002

woo hoo! That’s great.

November 7, 2002

I wish it was prospecti. In the same way that a shop shelf stocked full of furry old cloth cats would be a display of Bagpi….

November 7, 2002

Hooray! So pleased that things are working out…

November 9, 2002

Brilliant. Just.. brilliant 🙂 xxx