Why can’t people just leave each other alone?

I have had no time to write this week. Ridiculous I know, but there it is. This will be a quick one.

The weekend was spent in North Devon with mother. Weather was fabulous, we cut the grass, had a BBQ, and I produced a nice casserole for Sunday. Everyone behaved themselves.

This week I am on my own at work because my partner in crime decided to get married and is now almost certainly horizontal on an idyllic Thai beach. This is largely why I have had no time to write.
I have had very little time to read the news either, which means I have no idea where I am going with this entry.

The lovely Adel-a-Drie did point me in the direction of one story this week, which is quite horrific. It would seem that a Brazilian football referee got into a fight with a player during a game. The fight became physical and the referee ultimately produced a knife and stabbed the player in front of the crowd. The crowd then stormed the pitch, decapitated the ref, and stuck his head on a pole in the middle of the field. The player died of stab wounds on the way to hospital.

I can’t understand why people can’t just leave each other alone. It’s just a stupid game of football.

And another story that caught my eye yesterday concerns the European Court of Human rights. Apparently they have decided that the UK breaches the human rights of criminals if a life sentence is passed with no opportunity for appeal or parole. There is one moral and one political issue at stake here. The question of whether we should be condemning criminals to life in jail is a moral issue. The question of whether the EU should be deciding for us is a political one.

The moral question is a complex one. Basically I have no objection to any prisoner being able to launch an appeal. But this particular case is being brought by Jeremy Bamber, who is a complete psychopath and should never be let out. The man is a loony. He’s never taken responsibility for his actions, despite being caught basically red handed. He can appeal if he wants, but would be appalled if he ever won.

The political question is much easier to answer, no, the EU should have no say in UK domestic policy and they can kiss my puckered anus.

Right, that’s it. It turned out longer than I thought. I am aware that I have notes to answer. Thatnk you to those people who left them, I will get round to it soon.

Log in to write a note
July 10, 2013

What is keeping you so occupied? The vegetable patch? 🙂

July 11, 2013

Ryn: no excuse *pout!*

July 11, 2013

Lol I know. Just teasing ya 🙂

July 11, 2013

Ryn: lols. No, you didn’t do anything wrong. The concept is simple : whether you want or not. And then, whether there is demand and supply And finally, logistic wise.

July 11, 2013

Hahahaha I might turn out to be an 80 year old Chinese grandfather, lols!!!

July 12, 2013

Lols those were superimposed pics compiled from various Asian women pics in the internet 😛