Well, yesterday was hideous

Yesterday was hideous, and here’s why. I was supposed to leave the office at lunchtime and work from home in the afternoon, but my train arrived 30 minutes late, remained stationary for a further 15 minutes at the platform, moved 50 meters and then stopped for 90 minutes. No one was allowed off. Oh, and there was no air conditioning. Thanks First Great western, a new low in abysmal service. Eventually they made everyone get off (or de-train as it is apparently known) and I returned to the office. That’s two hours of my life I will never get back.

The idea was that I would go home and look after the boy while the dragon went for an interview at college. In the end she took him with her because I was not going to make it in time. He was apparently bored to death, but behaved well and the dragon has now passed her teaching qualification. I will be complaining to FGW in the strongest possible terms.

My new glasses have come, and I look a bit Harry Potter. I quite like them. I negotiated a deal with the optician and got 30% off two pairs. This means I can lose pairs now. It is not my plan to lose them obviously, but I can.

The boy and the dragon are off visiting friends this for the next few days. I will be on my own. This weekend I am intending to take up the carpets in the living room with a view to polishing up the floorboards. I don’t know how much I can get done.

Apparently topless sunbathing is becoming fashionable in our inner cities. I find this a very positive thing, and not just because I am a perv. It’s nice to see people confident enough to sunbathe in the parks.

Log in to write a note
August 2, 2013

I thought NHS still have the deal with Specsaver in the former’s free (subsidised) specs cost to the general public.