Today I have big snot

I have a cold. Yesterday I had a sore throat. Today I have big snot. It’s generally not much fun.

Happy Chinese New Year to everyone who celebrates it. We do celebrate in our house. In fact we have had friends to stay, and there has been much eating of traditional foodstuffs. It’s also half term, so the boy has not been going to school this week.

And it’s Valentines day,so I can’t go without writing something about that. We’ve been married nearly nine years now, so Valentines day is not the same as it was. I did however buy the dragon some flowers and a card, and today she gave me a parcel, and inside were two books from the bookshop she thought I might like. The great thing about this is that I’ve picked both those books up and thought about buying them for myself. This clearly shows that after a almost nine years of marriage and well over a decade of togetherness, we know each other intimately and are utterly comfortable together, which is just as it should be.

I planted raspberry canes and blackcurrent bushes at the allotment on Sunday. It was cold and raining. That could be why I have a cold. I had to do it however, or there wouldn’t be any other time to do it. I felt quite manly working on the allotment on my own in the rain though. I want to move one of our goji berry bushes there too.

The Pope has announced his retirement then. I thought it was one of those jobs that only death can end, like being the queen. Apparently he is the first Pope to retire for 600 years. I was thinking of applying for the job. I wonder if you have to speak Latin. You probably have to be catholic too, and believe in God. You get to wear a dress and a big hat though. That must be fun. I suppose we’ll be seeing the smoke up the chimney soo. The Femen activists were so pleased about the announcement that they decided to perform a mass baring of bosoms in Notre Dame cathedral, though I am fairly sure they will hate the next pope just as much as the current one.

It would seem that Rupert Murdoch may be considering whether to end Page 3 girls in the Sun Newspaper. The page 3 girl photo is something of a tradition now. It’s been going for 40 years apparently. It’s always been controversial, but I can’t help thinking that people would genuinely miss it if it was stopped. I suppose it doesn’t stop being misogynistic just because it’s missed. The argument is that topless pictures “objectify women”. I don’t know if it does. I don’t think I really have much of an opinion, but it’s an interesting argument. Does the women become an object because she exposes her breasts? Does the woman who applies lipstick become an object too? Lipstick is specifically designed to make women more sexually appealing after all.

Log in to write a note
February 14, 2013

Aww on your Valentine’s day gift! Tell you more when I next see you online!

Ms.
February 15, 2013

I’ve gotta say – your wife sounds so so lovely!!

February 18, 2013

*HUGS*