Liked the way it felt *Updated*

Apparently the Olympic flame went out during the lighting ceremony. It’s a sign I tell you. That’s a bad omen if ever I saw one.

Also today my boss appears to be in a foul mood. I can’t do anything right. I don’t know who peed in his bath this morning, but I’m working to rule. On the bright side, it’s a four day week this week and apparently the weekend is set to be nice, which makes a change. It’s been pretty much raining solidly for a month.

My last entry prompted one or two comments on American public nudity. Today I am going to continue with this theme, because I’ve found a fabulous story about a chap who decided to unicycle naked across the state Highway 146 bridge in Kemah. I actually looked this location up on Google maps this time, and it’s in Texas. The bridge, which is a good size incidentally, joins Kemah with Seabrook. It’s not really clear exactly what prompted the gentleman to attempt this journey, but when stopped by police he apparently told them he simply liked the way it felt. And who can’t identify with that statement? Click here for the story Glaveston Daily News. I particularly like the way they have managed to find a photo taken by a passing motorist to accompany the report.

Sadly I have to report that the naked unicyclist, Mr Joseph Glynn Farley, 45, of Clear Lake, was arrested and jailed pending an indecent exposure charge. I for one hope he gets away with it. Sometimes you have to step outside your comfort zone just to remind yourself that you’re alive. You can’t jail a man for that. As an aside, I am a unicyclist myself and I did consider attempting the London Naked Bike Ride on my unicycle last year. I decided not to on the grounds that 10 miles on one wheel is actually not easy, even with trousers. I did however unicycle up and down the garden path naked once or twice just to see how difficult it might be, and I’m thinking I might try it again in a show of solidarity for Mr Farley.

*** Update ***

Footage from the police dash cam of the naked unicyclist has been released. This is NSFW by the way.

Log in to write a note
May 11, 2012
YAH
May 11, 2012

I think clothes serve a grand estheatic purpose.. re the torch, the Greeks can not do much right lately.