I’m still here

Today I will write an entry. I’ve started about 5 entries over the last week, and non of them reached completion.

Independence day then, enjoy the fireworks if you live on that side of the planet. I’m at work, and it’s raining, again!

Here are some bullet points:

– Dragon did a sign language course for her job last week and came back talking with her hands.
– The boy was awarded student of the month at his martial arts club, very proud.
– Boy also came first in the sack race and second in 400m race at sports day.
– Boy also had his choir recital last week which went very well. He had a busy week.
– I’m building a computerised irrigation system from used washing machine parts and an Arduino control board. Stand by for pictures.

Today the CERN physicists are supposed to be making a Higgs Boson announcement, but they look like they slipped up and already announced it by accident on the website last night. It’s all a bit anti-climatic really isn’t it. I was hoping this would pave the way for teleporters and flying cars. It’s not looking likely though.

There are a couple of weird stories out there in the news today that just make me ask, what were they thinking?

In Russia 135 people have performed a formation bungee jump from a bridge. It’s not really clear why this was done, but it is quite a good video.

An opera has been written about Swindon. Doesn’t sound like a big box office draw does it? Swindon is not a bad place exactly. I know because I live there. It does lack a certain sophistication however, and it isn’t pretty. An opera seems somehow wrong, like a sitcom in an abattoir or something.

A Lincolnshire town mayor has been criticised for greeting the Olympic torch dressed as a sausage. Now I find the whole Olympic torch thing slightly tacky to be honest, and this woman dressed as a sausage really livened things up I thought. Local residents do not share my view however.

And finally some local naked news. Malmsbury is famous for being a pretty little Wiltshire town and for the Abbey House Gardens, which host clothes optional days once a month through the summer. According to the Gazette and Herald, a 67-year-old pensioner has been cautioned by police after he was spotted riding a scooter completely naked along Oxford Street in the town. Perhaps unsurprisingly the owner of the Abbey House Gardens, Ian Pollard, has denied that it was him. Apparently the unnamed nude scooter rider performed the stunt after being bet £100 at a charity event. We’re not told what the event was, but it seems the winnings were donated to the charity.

Log in to write a note
July 4, 2012

the irrigation system sounds interesting, my dad has (bought) one which he’s always tinkering with. .

July 4, 2012

I love how you start with the Higgs Bosun news and then everything after that is silly (in some form or another). It’s like “hmmm, maybe it is better we not fully grasp how all this rubbish started”

July 4, 2012

Boson

July 5, 2012

I hope it was the type of scooter you ride with your legs together, rather than the type you straddle. -Philo

July 6, 2012

RYN: Hi. I’ve been laying low since I came home. Mixed feelings etc. I am, however, still alive. Cookies if you know what the reference is. 🙂

July 8, 2012