If it’s not right, God missed a trick

A Glasgow firm has developed a liquification process that is being billed as a green way to dispose of bodies. It’s essentially a tank of warm potassium hydroxide solution into which the body is placed and is dissolved. My first thought was, “that’s not as green as burying someone”. I still think that. Then I looked up potassium hydroxide. Apparently it is produced using an electrolysis process. One of the byproducts is chlorine. That doesn’t sound very green to me.

Personally, I like the idea of being buried and eaten by the worms. It seems to be the way things should be, going back to where you came from.

Apparently the Large Hadron Collider has all but torpedoed the simplest version of supersymmetry theory out of the water. I don’t really understand supersymmetry, but my friend Dr. Alan, the theoretical physicist, says that the theory is so beautiful that if it turns out to be wrong, “God missed a trick”. I love that quote. He also said that just because the LHC panned one version, it doesn’t mean curtains for the theory in general. I connected Alan’s monitor up for him yesterday because he couldn’t do it. He’s so brilliant and so helpless. I find it perfectly charming.

Odd isn’t it that Usain Bolt was running 0.1 seconds faster than anyone else on the planet over 100m just 2 years ago, and now he doesn’t seem to be able to get out of the starting blocks without incident. Couldn’t be that something’s changed could it? Trying to avoid a drugs test? Any athlete testing positive now would ruin their Olympic chances next year I imagine. Yes, he did qualify fastest in the 200m semi finals, almost 1.5 seconds slower than his personal best over that distance. Couldn’t pull the same stunt twice though could he?

Log in to write a note

Dead bodies should be allowed to evaporate (without those decaying smell in their wake) into thin air. Someone should create the gas or chemical to do that. I have no sentiment towards remembering the dead by visiting their graves. Because when they die, they die. There is simply no sense remembering what have gone anymore, except by praying for them in our own time.

September 3, 2011

I think burying someone is more green as well. :-p