I’d rather walk than own a BMW

Wednesday, and it’s shaping up to be something of a crappy week at work. I don’t dislike my job, and it’s certainly not a bad place to work, but I don’t define myself by what I do at the office. I work only because I need a salary. If I didn’t need a salary, I could be doing much more interesting things with my time. The point is, I can’t really make myself care very much when things go wrong at work. My boss gets all shouty and pointy finger. I like him, but I don’t understand him. He needs a girlfriend or boyfriend or a hobby or something. Seems to me he only has work.

I don’t like people who define themselves by their work. I’m astounded by the number of people on Friends Reunited who start their profile, “Now work in Marketing/IT/Banking blah blah blah”. Why would I give a shit what you do for a living? I hate telling people what my job is. Worse are those people who define themselves by their car. I so dislike people who seem to think they are a success because they drive a BMW. I’d rather walk than own a BMW. It’s not that they are bad cars, I just wouldn’t want anyone to think I bought one to improve my image.

The 2012 Pirelli Calendar is previewed today in the Telegraph. I’m not sure how I feel about the Pirelli Calendar actually. I like the nudity aspect, obviously, but it’s not really one thing or the other as far as I can see. It’s not really sexy. It’s not really art. I can’t decide what it’s trying to achieve. The 2012 calendar is not going to sit well with me in any case because it has Kate Moss all over it, and she gets up my nose. Bloody whiney, prima donna drug addict.

Log in to write a note
YAH
December 7, 2011

I agree that you should not see your job as what defines you, but lots of people have that problem. It is probably worse in the US than in Europe. That Pirelli calendar preview is pretty tasty!

But is it true that in germany, bmw and merc are so cheap that even low income workers can afford them? And they are not luxury cars there?

December 7, 2011

Work is sometimes the only thing people have, best not to say a thing. If I didn’t need a degree, I’d be doing more interesting things too. As for BMWs, you do know what the alternative meaning of the letters is? Don’t get one. It’s spelt whiny, btw.

Ryn: agree with you about people measure their successes based on what they own. Especially in Asia, if someone doesn’t own a Merc or BMW, he is not successful yet

December 8, 2011

RYN: RE spelling, use Microsoft Word, easier. BMWs, ugh. Prefer Mercedes myself. ? RE acerbicness, thank you kind sir. LOL. RE McKinnon, no. Either or, price must be paid. If you or I did it, Aspie or no, the same hue and cry would go up. They’re just crying this because “little green men” and “Aspie” can be construed as excuses for what he did. No sympathy whatsoever. Disability won’t save you.

December 10, 2011
December 10, 2011

Kate Moss is rather less appealing than ACTUAL moss, which frequently has a use. -Philo

YAH
December 12, 2011

What do you think of this assessment of the UK economy? http://dailyresourcehunter.com/precursor-to-downfall-of-united-states/