I did fix the kitchen light…

I wrote an entry on Friday and then accidentally deleted it from Evernote before I’d published. I have a love-hate relationship with Evernote. It was so much better when it was simple. Now it has all sorts of functions which I don’t want and which cause me to delete important stuff when I’m trying to learn how to use them.

I just watched the new episode of Walking Dead. That is a dark, dark show. I also watched World War Z last week. I didn’t think Brad was very believable as a tough guy special ops dude.

The weekend was cold and wet. And I have a cold. The weather and my cold conspired against me and I achieved almost nothing as a result. I had intended to work on the allotment, and do some decorating. Neither happened. I did fix the kitchen light, which must count for something.

I’ve started to read Uncle Silas. I might as well get properly into the Gothic genre. Apparently it also kicked off the “locked room” technique.

I saw a story last week which in the news amused me. Apparently the Vatican has its own mint and made 6,000 medals to celebrate the new Pope’s first year in office. Sadly they only sold 4 before they realised that they has spelt “Jesus” wrong. Bit of a gaffe. They had to recall the entire batch. I want to own one. I’ve been looking on e-bay.

The Environment Secretary, Owen Patterson, has claimed opponents of the development of a type of genetically modified (GM) rice enriched with vitamin A are “wicked”. I’d say that was undiplomatic wording, but it’s an interesting philosophical point. It’s easy to sit here in our rich country where everyone is fat and pontificate about how awful GM crops are. It’s probably different when you’re hungry.

Log in to write a note