Get up to pee

Yesterday I worked from home. The day was full of power tools and Radio 2; these things have to be endured when hiring a plumber of any substance I fancy. And of course, we now have a new working boiler, which represents a distinct rise in our standard of living since the weekend. Today I am back at work. Again, this is something that has to be endured if said plumber is to be paid. I have long since reached the conclusion that I don’t want a job, only a salary. I was discussing this very point with the dragon last night as we washed the dishes from dinner. I told her that, despite not liking work, if we came into a lot of money I’d still need a reason to get up in the morning. She said that whatever happened I’d still need to get up to pee. I suspect she was being deliberately obtuse.

I’ve started reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I found a copy of it that I think came from my grandfather. It has a hand written inscription inside that reads, “Kenneth with love from Grandma – 1908”. Kenneth was my grandfather’s name. He would only have been eight years old in 1908 I believe. That would not have been old enough to read the book. It’s hard going. All the dialogue is all 19th century southern slave talk. According to Wikipedia it was the best selling book of the 19th century, apart from the bible. Who’d have thunk? I’ll keep you posted.

It would appear that controversial naked airport body scanners are to be scrapped in UK because the EU won’t approve then. The official line seems to be that there are fears over the possibility of them causing cancer. Odd then that they appear to have been scrapped on health concerns and not because they are almost useless.

Log in to write a note
YAH
September 18, 2012

Your wife has a dry sense of humor. You are a lucky guy 🙂

September 19, 2012

a wonderful novel 🙂 .

September 19, 2012
September 22, 2012

The book in question has a much greater weight on this side of the Atlantic, I think. At least, it did. Abraham Lincoln referred to the writer as the woman who started the American Civil War. -Philo