Finally

Firstly, I think I need to I need to talk a little bit about a recent couple of entries. I wrote an entry a while ago which mentioned all the UK celebrities currently being arrested for various sexual impropriety decades ago. The entry was light-hearted, but it did prompt one or two serious responses. So I wrote a follow-up entry, which ended up on Readers’ Choice, and I got note bombed, which was fun. I won’t re-sate my views here, suffice to say most of the response was broadly in agreement with me.

There was one slightly aggressive note which basically told me that there should be no statute of limitations, all sexual abuse is “violent crime”, all abusers should be castrated, rehabilitation is not possible, and that I was not welcome to reply to her diary because it was set to friends only. Well, if you think that when Dave Lee-Travis (allegedly) squeezed someone’s boobs 40 years ago it was a “violent crime”, that he should be castrated for it, and that rehabilitation is impossible despite the fact that he doesn’t appear to have been accused of anything for decades since, then I guess you’re welcome to that view. Glad you’re not the Home Secretary however.

Thanks to everyone that commented. I appreciate every note, and especially thanks for those notes I received from people who have been victims themselves, there were quite a few of you.

I was going to add a more normal entry to the end of this, but I think I’ll make a separate “normal” entry.

Log in to write a note
May 28, 2013

I don’t remember noting you, though I thought about it. I actually randomly found you before you wrotE your entry as I wanted more “friends” around my age. As someone who has just had a relationship with a chap who turns violent occasionally, and I think I might say it was rape the time he slammed my head into the wall, I went away to throw up and then he had sex with me. Yes – perspective is..

May 28, 2013

Lacking when it comes to the media trial of “celebrities” whereas police time would be better serve in helping those at risk now. As well as concentrating on the average cases, not the ones that sell papers.