Disorganised

It’s been a few days since I wrote anything. Half the problem is that, having read 50 Shades of Grey, I decided to start listen to the audio book of the sequel at work. I can do that at the end of the month because the last few days of the month are generally not very demanding mentally. However, I find it difficult to write and listen at the same time. I’ve finished the second book now, and I think I may wait a little while before I start the final book. I’m toying with the idea of doing a review, but I think I may just comment that it’s quite good, and that she owes Charlotte Bronte a lot. Think Jayne Eyre people.

I’m also currently reading Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World. Now that is a scary book. It doesn’t mix well with the E L James

I’m trying very hard to like the Olympics, or at least be patriotic. It’s not working very well. I started to watch the opening ceremony. It was impressive, but it annoyed me. It wasn’t a very positive view of Britain was it. And Huw Edwards is now officially on my hate list. That man is an idiot. He got right up my nose when he claimed that the industrial revolution was responsible for brutally uprooting the rural British countryside. I’m paraphrasing, but my point is, if you can’t say anything positive, keep your trap shut! He then went on to mispronounce Isambard Kingdom Brunel’s name, surely the most famous British engineer of all time. And I finally turned him off when he started talking about the, “dazzling beauty” of the Olympic rings. Dazzling Beauty?! It’s a logo, not a Renaissance masterpiece for God’s sake.

I know, grumpy old man, unpatriotic, but I am trying to support the event.

On an Olympic related point, I did notice that a Taiwanese flag was hung in, I think Regent Street, because Taiwan is a competing country. China however gets very upset that Taiwan competes and threatens to throw all the toys out of the pram unless Taiwan competes under the name “Chinese Taipei”, and uses an approved flag. The Regent Street flag mysteriously disappeared and no very convincing explanation was supplied. However, a defiant Taiwanese group in London did replace the flag, good! And the dragon was delighted that the “Chinese Taipei” was apparently under T for Taiwan and not C for China during the opening ceremony. What’s more, they also have some medals already I believe.

No nudity story today. I haven’t had time to look for one. My laptop at the office is broken and I’m using a spare. More tomorrow, if I can get organised.

Log in to write a note
August 2, 2012

Oh, those Chinese. When you say “toys out of the pram” you doubtless mean “all the cheap merchandise will stop being produced”. -Philo

August 2, 2012

China is crazy!

August 2, 2012

I stopped reading at 50 Shades… it’s trash. Read a chapter, stopped in disgust. This ain’t Jane Eyre, just crap writing and no realism. It angers me so fucking much. What’s WORSE is a 7 year old has a book out, and it ain’t much better! RE the Olympics, I loved the opening ceremony and GB are doing OK… China also doing good.