Boots

The day started well. Sausages were involved. It went downhill from there. I caught the 7.28 train and arrived at Didcot to see the shuttle bus leaving, so I had to wait 10 minutes for the next one. I still don’t have a replacement security pass for the one I lost and managed to enter the building as a colleague arrived. I sat down at my desk by 8.05, but the network is down. So I’m typing this in notepad instead of working

Yesterday we did another car boot sale. It was a last minute decision based on the the weather report on Saturday evening. It suggested Sunday would be nice, so we loaded up the car and set the alarm for 6 am. The weather was nice, but not as many people were there as the previous time. We did however make a solid £50 profit by about 11am. I also ran into my old boss, who I haven’t seen for about 10 years or more. We departed the boot sale at lunchtime and were left with an afternoon to play.

So I postponed lunch and took the boy to the Oasis. It wasn’t too crowded in the swimming pool and even the water slides didn’t have much of a queue. He had a good time I think. It’s probably a bit boring for him to do car boot sales with us, though he seemed to have a good time there too. He’s totally fearless with waterslides. He likes to go down backwards.

Three is supposed to be the tail end of a hurricane here today, but, although there is quite big wind, it’s not so bad and occasionally the sun even pops out. There are occasional bursts of torrential rain however.

I’m slightly fed up with 9/11 anniversary coverage. I know it’s important to remember those people who were injured and lost their lives, but it seems as though every time I turn on the tv there are planes flying into the World Trade Centre. I really don’t want to see it again. Maybe I’m just mean or something.

Lord Hannigfield, who was convicted of fiddling his expenses and was given a nine month sentence, has been freed after just 9 weeks. He essentially stole £14,000 by claiming expenses for staying overnight in London when he was in fact at home. So he actually served about one quarter of his sentence. Lord Taylor, who was also convicted on a number of expenses fiddling charges, has apparently also been released early, though details appear sketchy in his case.

I can’t find anything else I want to talk about. Maybe tomorrow.

Log in to write a note
September 12, 2011

You aren’t the only one who doesn’t want to keep seeing a plane fly into a tower. It’s one of those images that is easily burned into memory.

September 12, 2011

It’s different here, I suppose. The coverage is a bit more personal. -Philo

YAH
September 12, 2011

The fact that no one is really sure who was behind the attacks, and that no one in government appears to be willing to find out, makes the whole 9/11 thing aggravating. Also, when do they commemorate all the Iraqis and Afghanis killed (100 thousand +)?

September 13, 2011

I’m American and even I don’t want to ever see those planes hit those towers again. :-p