Albert was wrong?

OK I have a physics joke for you. But you need some background first. Apparently CERN scientists are worried about some results they’ve got that suggest neutrinos can go faster than the speed of light. It’s all terribly serious because it would mean Einstein was wrong and all our current physics models are cobblers. Anyway, I went to see Alan the theoretical physicist about this. He said he’d look into it and, if it turns out that it’s true, he’d tell me about it yesterday. See, see? That’s the joke! Faster than light! Time Travel!”

Pfft, what do you know from funny!

So, Elliot Morely is released after serving just 25% of his sentence for stealing public money. It was almost worth it I should think. He got 16 months and was out after four. I suppose he had to pay back the £30k he nicked and his career is ruined. Sounds like a gamble worth taking though. It does make me wonder just how many got away with it. I do hope they throw the book at Margaret Moran.

The NASA UARS (that should be pronounced, ‘you arse’ I think) satellite is due to crash to earth tonight and should be visible above UK at around 9pm. I shall be looking for it. We may be driving at the time. We’re on our way to Devon tonight. I was hoping I could find where it lands and nick a piece of it. They say it will likely land in the Pacific though. Mind you, they’ve been saying for a few days that they have no idea where it’s going.

OK, it’s Friday, it’s 4.30 and I’m thinking of going home. Dinner on the way to Devon. Have a nice weekend people.

Log in to write a note
YAH
September 23, 2011

Let’s hope that satellite, when you see it, can be seen as just a little dot in the sky. If the firy dot gets ever bigger you will perhaps have to take cover 🙂

Agree with Yah 🙂 Careful before you touch it though, won’t know what outer space particles can do to our skin. But take pics if it really passes you! 😛

September 24, 2011

Hope you get to see the satellite. 🙂 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3