More Apartment Stuff

Today Jake and went out for lunch and then on to the apartment complex where I signed and/or initialed a huge pile of paper, handed over a check for rent  and finally got the keys. We eventually found our way to the right building and went into the apartment and left a cook book on the kitchen counter!

One interesting thing that happened was that the young lady who was explaining everything to me and having me sign and initial things, mentioned that if I wanted safety grab bars in the bathroom, all I would have to do was to fill out the request form. She then got up and got me the form, wrote in what I needed and had me sign it! She said they would be there by the time I came back! Tomorrow I need to call the appropriate people to get the electricity turned on. The phone number is in the packet of papers since these packets are very well organized.

I am going to keep myself busy here until I go back,  but I am also going to rest because it seems to me that I will be frantically busy when I get back to Vermont. There is a lot to get done and I will only be there eight days before I come back. I had originally planned to leave in February but this apartment seemed to be made for me and when I found it was available as of today and that it is on the ground floor, I jumped at it. However, this means, of course, that I am paying rent for two apartments in this month, but I had  realized that this might happen. The rent for this month in this new apartment was prorated which did help a bit!

Fear not for the future, weep not for the past.

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English Poet

Be yourself. Everyone else is taken.

– Oscar Wilde

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers}

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2013

I like seeing you write as though you are excited about this. Bon moving

January 6, 2013

You may be due a security deposit on your VT apartment. Do you have a copy of the original lease?

I think it was meant to be. Hugs,M

Busy times but I agree with the thought that it was meant to be!

January 6, 2013

🙂 – – – –

that is nice that they are so willing to put in safety bars in the bathroom! Probably covering their own butts in case of a fall or something. Is it a senior living place or just a regular apartment? I kind of look forward to being able to get into senior living places (I have many many years before that happens though) because they tend to be so much quieter!

January 7, 2013

i can tell you’re excited about this move. i know i’m excited about it for you! there are times when i wish i had grab bars in my shower. take care,

This sounds like it was meant to be!! Congratulations!!!

This place was meant to be..I can’t wait until you get all moved in!

Grab bars are great!