Miscellanea of Moving In.

  • I have just finished making my food order and Jake and I are going to pick it up on Saturday between 3 and 3:30. It will be interesting to see how this goes. Jake also hates shopping so if this works well for me, he will possibly do this for his grocery orders. I can pay for this either through Paypal, a debit or credit card or cash!
  • No new boxes opened today but some of the bathroom and the kitchen stuff has been put away.
  • Some internal rumbling after meals today but not much and no need for any medication. My back has been hurting a bit but not much and I did manage to get out to the office to inquire about a chain for my door. I had an interesting conversation with one of the women who works and lives in the complex and she advised a latch lock, the kind you often find on the doors of hotel rooms. I will have to buy it but they will install it free since it is only a small job. Hmmm, wonder if Amazon has them…Oh, and the safety bars had been installed in the bathroom before I actually moved in.
  • I am still contemplating a Dyson vacuum. Can I bring myself to spend that much money, though is the big question… One thing I have noticed is that if I shuffle on the carpeted floors, I get shocks! Good reason to pick my feet up and walk properly!

Fear not for the future, weep not for the past.

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English Poet   

Be yourself. Everyone else is taken.

– Oscar Wilde

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers}

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2013

I’ve had a Dyson for about 3 years now & I love it! I can’t believe how well it does clean the carpets & is easy to push around. You need add some humidity to reduce the carpet shocks. Heating systems dry the air coupled with low temps outside & reduced humidity. A simple humidifier or even just some water in pans near your heat vents will help. Only need to do that in the winter.

Let us know how the grocery order goes.

January 31, 2013

I agree about the humidity. If you and Jake combined orders and paid cash, you could split the $5 processing fee and save a few bucks.

January 31, 2013

There are attractive little humidifiers out there. Last year I got one shaped like a flower for Mom. It wasn’t expensive.

BJ.
January 31, 2013

I’m glad you are getting the chain lock. They can be broke but it give you a chance to slam the door and a sense of security. I had one when I lived in my apt. Do you have a peep hole in the door? I did and wish I did at my house. I don’t like opening the door and not knowing who is there. Hope your back is better and that the grocery thing works out. (I’m in a hurry it is 8:47 and I haven’t eaten.)

January 31, 2013

I also suggest a humidifier. 🙂 – – – –

January 31, 2013

Humidifiers do wonders with dry air — our poor kitties get shocked now and then! I’ve been wanting a Dyson for quite a few years now, and heard nothing but good things about them. Oh — did the car show up?

I would LOVE a Dyson and with the content check coming from the fire I could probably get one. Thing is I really don’t want to spend that much. Also, in our new house we only have carpet in our three small bedrooms, and although we are going to put an area rug in our living room as well I just don’t think there is much need here. Now in the other house it would have been put to good use! Sure do

wish we had a grocery service. I hate to grocery shop! So glad you mentioned your paypal card. I have got to remember to transfer some money to mine tomorrow! 🙂 Hugs,M

I get shocks from my furniture! If I am moving around/shifting on it, and then go flip on a light or something- ZAP! Sheesh. Maybe I should turn on the humidifier… I have one, but I haven’t used it in a long time.

February 1, 2013