Feeling Better

Jake came today and disposed of everything I asked him to dispose of. He also moved my desk into the bedroom and to my surprise, it fits just where I thought it would. {I am surprised because I am not good at estimating sizes and distances. I always got Fred to do it for me since he was excellent at this.} Anyway, the bedroom is looking not too bad. There are two boxes by the door but they are both marked  art supplies –judging by experience there will be art supplies but I have been surprised by finding all sorts of other things in there– so will be moved into the dining area which is going to be my art area one day!

It has made a huge difference to how I feel now that the clutter on the floor in the entry area has gone. The living area almost looks –dare I use the word–liveable! My bedroom needs very little work. The kitchen has been reasonably OK for a while. I feel hope that in a couple of weeks there will be nothing to do in here except routine cleaning and tidying.

Something I really need is more light in here. There are two good-sized windows in the bedroom and a sliding glass door in the living area. The bedroom gets a lot of daylight when I open the blinds but the glass door leads out to a tiny little patio which is built in to the side of the building which means there is not as much light as there is in the bedroom during the day. I am going to get a couple of torchiere lamps–is that the right name? I mean the kind where the light shines up to the ceiling rather than down to the ground–to brighten the living room area. There is a ceiling fan in the living area but it has no central light. Actually, I prefer no top lights glaring down on me hence the torchieres. One excellent asset about this apartment is that there is a lot of places to plug in lights and anything else that needs electricity.

Fear not for the future, weep not for the past.

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English Poet

Be yourself. Everyone else is taken.

– Oscar Wilde

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers}

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note