Snowbound

 

Who would have imagined — the third heaviest snowfall in our city’s history descended on us Wednesday here in Charleston from a mighty Atlantic storm whipping up the Eastern seaboard. An unrelenting period of weather below freezing has kept the snow and ice around. A week of very cold weather and 5 inches of snow — we never have this. It’s very weird and unusual.  In fact, I don’t think this has ever happened here.

That afternoon the snow started coming down, first a few flurries, then heavier and heavier snow until the shrubs and ground were covered. It was magical and beautiful watching it. It’s so rare here that you can’t believe your senses. But snow it was — soft, wet, fluffy and cold. The landscape was transformed in a period of less than an hour, the snow was so heavy.

Mom was mesmerized. She kept looking out the large windows in the den. “I’ve never seen anything like it,” she said again and again. It was indeed an entrancing scene outside, and when it stopped around 5 there was that stillness and quiet that comes with new fallen snow. How sweet to observe the world at peace — no loud motorcycles, cars or trucks. When I stepped out on the porch, I could hear the delighted, happy sounds of children. If we adults are so bedazzled by falling snow, imagine the giddy excitement of children who perhaps have never seen it before. This is the coast of South Carolina. It “NEVER” snows here, remember.

But behind this highly unusual spectacle was the unsettling fact that it was a just plain weird weather occurrence. It all seems to be another byproduct of this scary thing called global warming and climate change, at least the severity of it. Think back to the horrible hurricane season just past. Now low temperature records have been falling all across the eastern half of the country. I can’t even imagine single digits and below zero temperatures.

So the heavy snowfall here, while beautiful, was yet another reminder that we’re really starting to pay the price for our decades-long reliance on fossil fuels and our lack of will and foresight to have dramatically started changing our carbon habit way of life decades ago. I remember in grade school and high school being astonished that cars could pollute the air so freely and that there were so many smokestacks belching pollution. Things changed starting with the Clean Air and Clean Water Acts in the early seventies, but now those laws are in danger.

People are getting out and about driving and trying to get back to some semblance of normal life. Fortunately for the most part Mom has had a relatively good period as far as her dementia. She slept all day one day but was talking and asking questions over and over yesterday. The hardest part of it all was just being stuck inside. By the end of day two cabin fever was really setting in and I was getting a cold which I haven’t had in several years at least.

None of our five caregivers could come until last night, and that was a totally unexpected blessing.
I heard a knock on the door about 6:30. I couldn’t imagine who it could be. It was one of our caregivers, the newest one we hired. She told me she had been thinking I might need help with Mom and a break from everything after three days of no help. I really was overjoyed and thanked her profusely. I hadn’t been able to get a shower for days, so that was the first thing I did. Then I relaxed in bed, reading and checking things on the Internet on my phone. What a relief to have a three-hour break. And she had already worked another job earlier in the day. I really can’t be away from Mom for more than a few minutes if no one is here. Who says there aren’t angels among us?

Log in to write a note
January 8, 2018

I love the world when it snows! We may get one good snow a year. I probably wouldn’t like it as much if it snowed all winter. I can tell by your words that you enjoyed getting to see it. However, I know how the cabin fever sets in. I won’t drive anywhere when the roads are frozen. There have been years that I couldn’t get out of my driveway onto the road.

Yes, climate change is real. And yes, everything is in danger these days. All the progress we have made, and to step so far backward is mind boggling.

I’m delighted to read that one of the caregivers showed up to give you a bit of a break.

January 8, 2018

@zhnee It is so scary to see how far we are regressing in this country. Frightening, really. I try not to think about it too much. It’s all a bit too surreal. Like some really bad dream that keeps going on and on.

January 17, 2018

Yes, she was an angel indeed! Imagine seeing a snow storm as if it were the first time at your mother’s age and in her condition…must have been … well, unimaginable to those of us who simply have a remembered group of them in our inner library.

Wanted to find you and to let you know that I have resolved my problems re-establishing my diary here…thanks to Frieda and to the Diary Master’s efforts. Just today. My best to you and your mother and those wonderful aides, Oswego.

January 17, 2018

I was shocked to hear that Charleston got so much snow! I bet it was amazing to see.

My my mom had Alzheimer’s, and my dad took care of her until she passed away. I don’t know how you do it. I stayed with her several times when he was in the hospital, and I couldn’t leave her for a minute. She called 911 when I was drying my hair, thinking it was 411 and wanting to get my uncle’s number, which we had hidden because she was calling him every few minutes! I came out of the bathroom to find firemen at the door because she hung up on the operator. The caregivers are lifesavers!

January 19, 2018

@ednamillion Thank you for your note. I don’t know what I’d do if Mom had Alzheimer’s. Vascular dementia is hard enough. I admire your dad tremendously. I get strength for caregiving from an abiding love for the one I am caring for and an intense desire to see

her remain in her own home.