Dementia Journal, Jan. 18, 2018 — The hope of new beginnings

 

I feel there is a new beginning in my life now, the start of something I’ve hoped for, a confidence that my depression will continue to subside and that the intense and terrible anxiety I felt late last year will also continue to fade until I feel like I’m in control of my days again. I am so thankful I feel better because as you will see it takes every ounce of patience and self composure, plus using my survival wits to weather the unpredictable crises that pop up out of the blue each day of my life as a caregiver.

I really do have to live one day at a time as I enter the eighth year of caring for my 94-year-old mother who suffers from increasingly severe dementia and diabetes. She had two very bad diabetic lows this week — never before like that — and a terribly angry and wildly paranoid hour today wherein I was told repeatedly to get out of her house because she didn’t trust me and I was trying to take the house from her. She tried to kick me and hit me with a Kleenex box. It was an awful and frightening episode. It’s also very alarming and frightening to see her hands shaking and trembling when she has those diabetic lows. Her blood sugar reading was 39 so I had to work fast with orange juice to get it back up. Contrast this with a normal blood sugar and sweet personality and mood when she tells me she loves me, couldn’t live here without me and takes my hand and holds it close to her face.

As you can imagine, her personality shifts are jarring and upsetting in the extreme, but such is my desire to keep her out of a nursing home that I’m willing to put up with more than I ever thought I would or could. It’s so sad and disorienting to hear your mother saying terrible things about you and an hour later holding my hand and thanking me for all I do.

Amazingly, solutions and strategies come to mind during her dementia storms when she is slapping her hands on the TV tray and calling out “Help, Help!” as the caregiver and I look on with rising dread and foreboding. Will she come out of this? Will she take the sedative? All of a sudden I remembered the typed copy of my grandmother’s favorite Bible verses. I had written them down when I was 12 years old and visiting her on vacation. I handed them to Mom and she immediately started reading them out loud for about 20 or 30 minutes. A remarkable transformation came over her as she continued to read the verses. She calmed down and completely came out of that latest episode of what is referred to as delirium, and it’s common among people with dementia who get agitated, for whatever reason. I sighed with relief and called the next caregiver scheduled to come and told her Mom was back again to her sweet self, which she is at least 95 percent of the time. But the delirium episodes are the only thing that truly makes me consider throwing in the towel and finding a place for her. If these become more common, I don’t know how I will ultimately handle it, but that may be in the future.  Right now I’m concentrating on the present.

As I mentioned before, I have wonderful caregivers who feel like family and have been with us for years. Ultimately though, the responsibility falls on me. Our goal remains to keep her at home, but as month follows month the demands of caring for her and keeping up this house and tending to all be paperwork and a myriad other responsibilities mount. There’s no let up. The toll is heavy on my heart and my soul is weighed down seeing Mom disappear excruciatingly slowly. So slowly and inexorably that when I see photos of her from just a few years ago, I am dumbfounded and realize how much I just don’t notice and don’t remember what she and I are going through.

I wonder, pray and hope I can continue to care for her and at the same time have some sort of life of my own. But this is all sacrificial. I know that deep down I can’t imagine doing anything other than what I’m doing presently.

Sometimes, however, I feel so trapped and cut off from others and the the world around me that things seem to be closing in and I can’t see a way out. But I only strongly felt that his way when I was feeling so depressed late last year. That has lifted quite a bit lately, and I feel considerably better and my appetite has returned.

Whenever I succumb to peering into several imagined scenarios involved the future and start to ruminate and dwell on what might ultimately happen to Mom as well as to me, anxiety starts moving back in. I begin to feel an existential sense of dread. Those feelings were most acute late last year almost every morning, and I truly didn’t want to get out of bed. I made myself do it.

Mornings are more bearable in this new year and as the days unfold, I feel a certain level of confidence returning as long as I dwell on, and live primarily in, the multitude of present moments that make up each day.

Log in to write a note
January 18, 2018

What you are doing is totally amazing. Very few, including me, could do it. I wonder why your mom is hanging in there. I do believe that people her age have some say, conscious or not, about passing over. Do you think she is afraid? The bible verses seemed to help so I assume she has a belief in an afterlife.

January 18, 2018

@bonnierose Thank you! It’s a complicated story of how and why I manage to do this. So far the situation has been manageable with the help of caregivers. But I don’t know how I’ll handle things if and when her health gets really bad, and the prognosis for dementia is not good, as you can imagine.

This has become my main mission in life, being the only single and unattached of her three children. Also, I’ve run from things in the past and I don’t want to ever do that again, if I can help it.

Her faith is very strong and she is tired of her plight, she tells me sometimes. Yesterday morning, for several hours including from the minute she woke up, she told me she didn’t think she would make it and that she was dying. All her vitals were good as well as was her blood sugar, but I think this is her anxiety and fear of the unknown when she thinks the time has come. If I managed to live to 94 I think I would probably have similar mornings. She often asks what has happened to her late sisters who all went before her and we tell her they are in Heaven. She has been sleeping all day long, even now as I write this at 9 pm.

January 18, 2018

You badly need a vacation. Are there no siblings? The only way to get through this and have a real shot at dealing with your own issues is if you can find some way to build in breaks. Is there nobody that can help shoulder the load?

January 20, 2018

@icarusknew Fortunately I have enough caregivers working for us that I can get away for an hour or two most days. My last vacation was in 2009 so I definit my need one. I’d really love to take a trip to the mountains, but that’s not on the horizon anytime soon. My sister lives in Seattle and my brother, who lives nearby, pretty much works 24/7. He comes over every week or so and calls twice a day.

January 21, 2018

@oswego Two hours a day is not nearly enough my friend. Take better care of yourself or you will reach the point where you are of little use to your Mom. Time to call in the siblings for that family meeting and discuss sharing the load. That’s my two cents. I’ll make it a nickel by adding that you are a wonderful son and your Mom is indeed lucky to have you.

January 18, 2018

A read a study recently that noted that music can distract or snap them from these episodes, especially music from their youth.

January 18, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm I have heard this, too, and it’s certainly worth trying. Thank you!

January 24, 2018

Dear Oswego – I am glad to read that you are doing better. You are to be admired for taking care of your mom the way you do. It is a difficult journey, but you are better and that is the good thing.

Take care of you.

January 26, 2018

You are doing the best you can, but indeed, it is very very hard. You are a wonderful son! Your mother is a very lucky mother to have you. Take good care. ????

January 28, 2018

thrilled to find you also back here…..even those of us who cross-post, because there are other long lost OD friends I have missed too.   Hang in there my friend, my admiration for all you do for you mum is a biggie……its great  to know you have some good days.  hugs p

January 29, 2018

@gypsyspirit Great that you are here, too, my friend. I am hoping to be in touch with more friends and readers from OD as time goes on.

January 31, 2018

It’s such an awful awful thing. My dad managed to take care of my mom at home until the last 3 weeks of her life, when she went into hospice. It was very hard on him, but he has never expressed the slightest regret. My mom was such a happy and pleasant person to be around ordinarily, but with dementia she was suspicious and upset much of the time. And she took it out on him- as her doctor told us, the person who is there the most is the one who gets the roughest treatment. I am so glad you have the caregivers to help- my dad had someone who helped her with bathing but that was about it, and it was enormously hard on him, and very depressing. And the good and terrible thing is that it won’t go on forever.

February 11, 2018

I’m looking forward to reading your dementia journals, Oswego. Your journey is not one anyone wants, but many have to take and I’m sure your wisdom will help.

February 11, 2018

@margaret_1 Thank you! I don’t write Dementia Journal entries often, but when I do they are the result of a good bit of prior thought and they spill out. It’s very cathartic. They are located in my Prosebox archive which you can access. If there is any problem doing so, let me know. I look forward to getting your input.

February 11, 2018

@oswego Yes I saw your note. do you write as Oswego on Prose box?

February 11, 2018

@margaret_1 Yes. Oswego.