Sugoi!

I’m in the tiniest hotel room I’ve ever even begun to imagine and the toilet just sprayed warm water on my lady bits and pooper parts which I found VERY enjoyable!

In other news, all these little people I’ve interacted with have been very nice so far albeit also extremely un-subtly dismayed by my desire to, if not keep all my luggage with me, at least have a chance to organize it into things-I-need-now and things-I-won’t-need-until-Monday piles. But shit, I was explicitly told I wouldn’t need to ship anything when I got to Tokyo so I pushed back and now they’re letting me send a bag out in the morning. I was chuckling to myself about the fact that within 3 minutes of walking out of customs I was having this incredibly polite and willful battle with a middle-aged man who stood about three inches shorter than I and kept calling his supervisor and sighing and there were a lot of disapproving “desu ne’s!” in the conversation. He’s like, “But the bags are so heavy, and you are so small! This will be very difficult on trains!” And I’m here looking down into his eyes thinking, “Who are you calling small!?” But I refrained and actually it will be REALLY nice not having to juggle so much shit tomorrow on the public foreign transport.

Anyways, I’m here! And really feeling a lot better about things, although that’s very easy to say while sitting in my hotel room by myself and all that. I’m so exhausted – didn’t sleep a wink on the plane and not too much leading up to my flight this morning, either, so the thought of going out and finding food is incredibly unappealing right now and what’s making that even worse is there is FRIGGIN’ beer in the vending machine twenty feet from my door! This is an introvert’s wonderland.

Alright. Must imbibe yeasty beverage and crash.

<3clea

Log in to write a note
January 26, 2011

a beer vending machine! is all i have to say

Beer vending machine?! Okay, that’s it, I’m going to Japan! SO glad you arrived safely and I can’t wait to read all about your adventures. I think if I ever ended up in Japan, I’d feel like Gulliver in Lilliputia. Only hopefully without that whole bondage thing.