our bed

i’m moving in with theodore. i’m flying to riverside, ca tomorrow. my parents and i are leaving the house at 830 and driving for two hours to billings, which i believe is the worst city in montana.

this is the first time i’ve even considered living with someone i was dating. well, i considered it with jorge, but once i became aware of the reality of what that situation would be like, i quickly made an escape. it’s weird to me that there are entries about meeting jorge in this diary. that was seven years ago! damn!

anyways. once i get to california, ted is going to drive his (our!) motorhome and i’m going to follow, driving his scion, colorado-bound! and we’re going to stop at all the pretty part. i get to see the grand canyon for the first time. and then when we get to grand junction, i am flying to austin, texas to cook for a silent buddhist retreat with my aunt. i’m getting paid for that, but i as of yet do not know how much. last time i cooked with her for one of these there were a hundred and twenty people to cook for! this one only has thirty, which i’m quite grateful for. so, it will be a week of cooking for a bunch of silent people. best of both worlds… the wonderful, warm, palpable peace that lies over gatherings of buddhist people, without having to listen to them talk! ha, actually, i don’t know how i’ll handle the silent bit. i really enjoyed talking to every single person i met at the last retreat very, very much. should be an experience, at any rate. plus i get to hone my cooking skills like mad and learn a bunch of new vegetarian recipes. major bonus!

after texas i am flying back to billings and spending ten days back at my parents house, taking care of my mom’s garden while she and my dad are in florida and texas, on a fishing trip. can’t believe my luck! the great parts of living here without the stress of seeing my dad descend into alcoholism-induced dementia before our eyes. and after that, it’s back to grand junction to find some sort of work with which to occupy my time and thusly my bank account and be a bit settled somewhere (unless JET calls me but i’m just going to pretend they don’t exist for the time being.) and i like grand junction, and there’s frisbee golf, and i can try to make some new friends which is always fun and a little nerve-wracking. and i think we get to park our motorhome on this bit of land right next to the colorado river. dreamy! classy! living in a motorhome down by the river! i love my life.

stay well, stay well!

clea

Log in to write a note

Sounds like a very interesting time coming up for you. I always kinda liked Billings for some reason. Waiting to hear more about your experience.

April 27, 2010

It sounds like fun! I hope you enjoy everything that’s coming up! 🙂