Even gone he is an ass

My downstairs neighbor moved out this weekend.  We were never friends but since this summer we have been able to at least get along okay.  Still, for the most part, until this summer, he has been a pretty crappy neighbor.  The excessive pot smoking was also an incredible annoyance.  I didn’t mind that he smoked, but the fact that he was always doing it, and in the last couple of weeks I couldn’t come or go from my apartment without smelling like I just had a joint, got really annoying.  Do what you want but really, it is not right to force that on somebody who doesn’t want it. 

Anywho, he told us on Thursday that he would be out of the apartment Saturday, he had a flight to Boston, where he was moving.  Since the breaker box is in his apartment, and our whole apartment is one circuit and blows frequently, we were concerned with having access to the box.  I called my landlord and he agreed, in fact thought it was a good idea for us to have a key regardless if it was empty or not because the basement is through that apartment.  Fall 2009 we had new doors put on the apartments (well, the landlord did) and we were given the keys to our new doors.  We mailed a copy of ours to our landlord, and Don was to do the same.  Why Bob didn’t push it I don’t know, but he never got a key to Don’s.  Don also has not paid rent there since October, and the bills he was supposed to pay in exchange for a smaller rent, he had let go to collections to the point that Bob has picked up all the bills so we do not lose our electric, gas and water.  The landlord told me that he hasn’t evicted Don because every time he came over to talk to Don, the race card was played (my neighbor was African American.) 

So, the landlord called Don and told him that he was to give us the keys before he left and some money that was owed to him (probably some of the back rent but I am not sure, just that I have a lot of cash to send the landlord).  I waited all day yesterday and there was never a knock on the door.  I texted a friend of mine working down at KF and she told me he had been through about 2 on his way to the airport.  Just like that, he left without leaving the key with us like he was told to.  I went downstairs and checked the mailboxes, and even his door, locked up tight.  So I called the landlord (who never called me back).   This morning I heard my neighbor from the house next door out so I went to see if the key was left with him.  It wasn’t so he called my landlord and told him.   He found a window unlocked he could get into if needed to break in.  The landlord said he would let him know.  About 10 mins after my neighbor headed out for his errands, I heard banging downstairs.  The landlord lives 1/2 hour away so I knew it wasn’t him.  I went downstairs to take the trash out and spent 1/2 hour cleaning my car out (it wasn’t that bad, I was being nosy) to see who it was.  it was one of Don’s friends.  He left a mess in that place and a bunch of stuff and apparently left the key with somebody to come clean it up or something.  I don’t know, they are making a lot of noise, which is pissing me off because Shannon is sleeping, and truthfully, he told the landlord he was out of the place Saturday and therefore they have no right to be in there without Bob’s permission, which was not given.  

I want them out, I want it done with.  I am so annoyed right now.  He turned out to be an ass right to the end.  I am really hoping the landlord shows up while they are down there.  He will be pissed to say the least.  I have thought about calling the cops, but just don’t want to deal with that today

Log in to write a note
February 13, 2011

I saw you on the front page and HAD to read you and had to note. Your title sounds like I feel about my exhusband LOL. Good luck with the mess he left behind hon.

February 13, 2011

Oh man, what a mess that whole thing is! I’m glad you’re rid of that neighbour. He sounds pretty awful, really. And I’m sorry you’re still having trouble even though he’s gone!

February 13, 2011

You are nicer than I, my dear. I would have called the landlord and cops on the spot.

February 13, 2011

P.S. agree with your random noter, sounds like my ex, but she’s a she!