My first penny?

I just published my first ever story on Medium: The most exciting things about my plant-based diet. After that I set everything up so I could receive payments for my articles. It was a little bit frustrating especially since I am using my laptop through a really slow hotspot (and even just filling out input boxes it was doing funky things) but I made it through the process, I think. Logins and verification processes stress me out!

I’m not expecting much at first and I honestly do not want to make a whole lot of money until the next tax year begins so I’m okay with that. I’m just trying to not be a perfectionist about it and to just take action. It’s good that you can always edit stories. I think on average per view Medium pays between 1.5 cents and 3 cents and it’s based on reading time rather than views.

After I set everything up I checked my stats and I had two views. If that had happened after I set it up to be paid for the story I guess that would be somewhere between three and six cents which would be awesome because: 1) It is way more than the return I get on my savings account, and 2) I don’t get paid to write on Open Diary. I mean, unless someone here wants to check out my Medium page, then maybe my first penny on Medium would come through Open Diary which would be fun!

Oh my gosh, just now another frustrating thing happened: I got logged out of Medium for no reason and it can take forever to log back in on this thing. As soon as I did, though, I saw a notification and I got my first clap from someone with a username none other than Tokyo? Is that a sign? I think I am going to take it as a sign. That is probably also my first penny made on Medium. So, so much for my first penny coming from Open Diary, but… Tokyo! And I haven’t even written anything about Japan. How weird is that?

If you want to check out my story, which is a list of five exciting things about having a plant-based diet, my medium page is:

http://www.medium.com/@oliverinthemist

Oh, if you’re interested in reading it and you’re not a member I can just send it to you. I don’t know, at some point I am going to change my username and the name I use. I am never ever happy with these things and I wish I could just find one I like and stick to it forever. Oh, I think Tokyo checked out my story before I put a paywall on it, so I guess I am still waiting for my first penny.

Anyway, I am pretty stressed right now and I don’t know why. Maybe it’s partly that I ate way too much Chinese food tonight. Now I think I will go back to reading in Spanish and your regularly scheduled programming.

Log in to write a note
October 29, 2023

Yes, eating my whole food plant based vegan way is fun 🙂 Good going with your writing about plant based and anything else. Wishing you much good luck in writing.

November 3, 2023

@timita thanks so much 🙂