To a woman who has temporarily misplaced her dream

A response to a woman who has temporarily misplaced her dream.
 
(Read this first.)  Madam Sassy Pants 

 
I read somewhere that grief takes as many different forms as there are people. It’s not at all unusual for someone to lose faith, direction, purposefulness, interest, and love of self and others, after losing a loved one. Self-doubt and self-loathing are frequently present during grief.
 
To say, “I wanted to be a doctor to make a difference, help people, fix the world. I no longer find that I believe any of that is possible,” is to yield to the grief. Yielding is ok, it’s just that that statement is (as you’ve said) a “belief” and not an accurate summation of your future. How can it be? The future is unknowable.
 
In MY view of your future, a little girl lies on your table, a victim of a drive by shooting, a bullet lodged in the lining of her heart. There is no time to wait for the cardiac surgeon, nor to move her to an ER and to do so will kill her.
 
You; with your medical education represented by your professors and the medical books they read, and the authors of THOSE medical books and the books THOSE authors read, back, back, back, the THOUSANDS of years your training and education represent, culminating with Hippocrates, Paracelsus, Aspasia; deftly cut the bullet from her chest and save her life.
 
Twenty years later, she seeks you out to proudly introduce you to HER daughter, “Honey, this is the good doctor who saved mommy’s life so I could live to be your mommy.”
 
Do I know it will be true? No, not any more than you know it won’t. However, I DO know, at that moment, or one like it, you will have clarity!
 
Trust me! You are a healer! Right now, the healer is in need of healing. Give yourself time … whatever time it takes, to repair the tear in your heart.
 
Remember, “Primum non nocere,” especially to your own future, to your own work.
 
Go forth and celebrate your accomplishment, as best you can in your grief. Moreover, when you walk forward to receive your degree, listen to the UNIVERSE … listen to your father when he was at his wisest … as we all, strangers, family, and friends alike, applaud you, your accomplishment, and all you represent, good Doctor.
 
Thank you for what you do and thank you for all the people you have helped, and will help in your future.


 Anne Geddes
God bless,
 
Nunzio
9280

Log in to write a note
May 11, 2006

How very thoughtful of you. I hope this served as an encourgement to the lady. It encouraged me! And I hope she reads my note. My 15 yr old daughter Tabitha who has required 4 open heart surgeries and requires a monthly doctors visit and pacemaker checks would not be alive today if it were not for people like this lady. I applaude her. I celebrate her heart.

May 11, 2006

You are so awesome!

May 11, 2006

You’re a good man, Nunz. I’m glad you’re back.

May 11, 2006

always nice to hear some perspective.

Great to read you again. Ahhh…fresh words. Themz good words, too, Nunz!

May 11, 2006

ryn~ba da boom. Funny man.

RUN: You can come visit my space whenever you want….and lick me up. MMMmmmm!

May 11, 2006

you are wide and so very right – my niece required 2 open heart surgeries and would not be alive if it weren’t for her wonderful doctors – today in fact – is her 12th birthday. I am in awe of Madam Sassy Pants.

May 11, 2006

~sigh~ you are wise not wide.

Yes…now that I don’t have Big Brother watching over me, I can be a bit braver — although I thought I pretty much put myself out there as Danalex, too (at least with the photos).

I’m curious as to what it is about me that you find so attractive (or “couch-bending-worthy”) LOL

May 11, 2006

Whilst I applud the entry, what springs to my mind is that ‘Peoples dreams change sometimes’ 🙂

ryn: Thanks for yumming me up this morning, Nunz! smooch!

BTW, what’s your email addy?

sent you an email this afternoon. Enjoy!

thanks for writing about her.