Please Mr. Bush … just… sit down!

 

 
Iraqi journalist throws shoes at Bush
 
 
   "This is a goodbye kiss from the Iraqi people, dog,"
 
 

 

In this image from APTN video, an Iraqi journalist, centre throws a shoe at US President George W. Bush, during a news conference with Iraq Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki, on Sunday, Dec. 14, 2008, in Baghdad, Iraq.
 
On an Iraq trip shrouded in secrecy and marred by dissent, President George W. Bush made a farewell visit to Baghdad on Sunday, flying in secret out of Washington to declare that while great strides have been taken toward peace, "the war is not over.”
 
In a sign of lingering anger over the war that will define the Republican president’s foreign policy legacy, an Iraqi journalist shouted "This is from the widows and orphans, this is a farewell kiss from the Iraqi people, dog," and hurled his two shoes at Bush, one after another. Bush ducked both throws and neither Bush nor the Iraq Prime Minister were hit.
 
In Iraqi culture, throwing shoes at someone is a sign of contempt.
 
In many ways, the unannounced trip was a victory lap without a clear victory. Nearly 150,000 U.S. troops remain in Iraq fighting a war that is intensely disliked across the globe. More than 4,209 members of the U.S. military have died in the conflict, which has cost U.S. taxpayers $576 billion since it began five years and nine months ago. (AP Photo/APTN)
 
Video

Please Mr. Bush … just… sit down and don’t say anything more. 

 

 
19,206
 


site meter

Log in to write a note
December 14, 2008

Did you see his response? God, he’s so, so…HOKEY. Makes us all look bad. Ugh.

December 14, 2008

What does it mean when the Secret Service won’t even throw themselves in front of a shoe??

December 14, 2008

And the thing is that when he was interviewed directly after the incident he STILL didn’t understand what a great insult it was to have shoes thrown at him. What a MORON! I wear a size 12 had I known I would gladly have shipped a pair of my shoes to that Iraqi journalist.

December 14, 2008

I love how W’s ducking the shoes and al-Maliki’s just there, ready to take it. 36 days won’t pass fast enough…

December 15, 2008

heheheheheheehe ah, this just makes me giggle with mirth. Poor journalist, I wonder what they’re going to do to him, but just think how much satisfaction he must have. And incidentally, do you know a culture where throwing shoes at someone is NOT a sign of contempt?

December 15, 2008

Funny, for the next 35 days all press conferences will also be sock hops.

December 15, 2008

He will go down in history as one of the worst presidents ever.

December 15, 2008

What did Bush say when the shoes were thrown at him?

December 15, 2008

i thought that was the funniest thing on tv in a longlong time! i liked george w, but only for the laugh factor. he had no idea it was not a good thing to have shoes thrown at you. i throw shoes at my kids when i get pissed at them. trust me, its never a good thing. i went back to last entry and read the DM’s note. it kinda pissed me off.

December 15, 2008

Damn…that 1st shoe about got him 😉

December 15, 2008

Poor George. Now… personally, I think the shoe throwers should have been gunned down.

December 15, 2008

Too bad he missed! I must say W is pretty spry at dodging flying objects being hurled at him, he must have had a lot of practice. Isn’t it funny how NO ONE is the least bit outraged about this in the US? Like we all wanted to do the same thing? Or is it just me LOL.

December 15, 2008

I just think the shoe throwing think is out of line. He’s the PRESIDENT OF OUR NATION AND NEEDS TO BE SHOWN RESPECT AND ALL PERPS THEREOF NEED TO BE SLAPPED DOWN HARD as a matter of course! Now…do I approve of his performance? Bless his little baby heart, he’s such a dufus. I’m embarrassed for our nation. No. I don’t. But I also dont’ think that he singlehandedly is responsible…

December 15, 2008

…for the state of affairs in our nation OR the world. Anyone who says he alone is responsible is an idiot.

December 15, 2008

We won’t argue that point. I can’t disagree with you but neither do I believe that you (any of us) have all of the facts to prove that he DOES have deserve most of the blame. We simply cannot know that. They don’t tell us the real shit, as you know. Now…you think you can convert me to the Dem Party? Oh…Nunzio…you are delusional.

December 15, 2008

RYN: Yes I saw a bit of what the DM said in notes on the entry..If you are, however, forced to go favs only, please add me 🙂

December 15, 2008

oooh boy.. I heard about this earlier today through another ODer.. *whistles* well.. I’m glad I wasn’t on the end of that..

December 16, 2008

And true, I already know all of the stuff in the gentle, loving reminder you gave me. I appreciate it too, Cutiepie. You only want me to be happy, productive and peaceful and enlightened. I know that, Babycakes. Now… I’m sure I need a good hard spanking. Can you stop lecturing me long enough TO DO THAT??? I might even send you some pics.

December 16, 2008

Note I made the above note “public” just to stir the pot. How brave I am, eh? I’m a bluffer. Unfortunately, not everyone knows that about me. LOL. So this is me saying it.

December 18, 2008

LOL!!!!! i laughed so hard when i saw the video. it’s too bad everyone didn’t take off their shoes and start throwing!!!

December 18, 2008

ryn: LOL. i got bored with it after a year. my kiln, all my glass, all my tools are collecting dust in my garage. maybe i’ll get back into it someday. piano and guitar. music seems to calm my frazzled nerves. i think of nothing else but the music i make. it’s soothes me. better than any valium i could take.

December 21, 2008

This reminds me of a game on the Wii fit. He dodged the shoes well! (atleast he does something well)

December 24, 2008

Serin’s note is hilarious!

December 29, 2008

ryn: i’m glad DWB asked if the letter was sent or not.. it was not sent and wont be. I wrote something much different to him which i will be posting soon.. in variation of course to protect privacy. there have been lots of questions from the OD public (i.e. non-favorites).. I wrote that entry while i was writing the email to him.. I couldn’t write in that state of mind.. I had to let it out.<P> I’m really not angry with him and that entry was written in maybe.. 5 minutes. Justin is a good man he’s just.. ah.. well i’ll write about it later.

January 2, 2009

Happy New Year!

January 4, 2009

Ryn: True – eventually. : )

January 6, 2009

ryn: a boss i worked with for 6 years is jewish; it was a catchy phrase. heehee

January 7, 2009

Actually I’ve got a list of things you can do to me now for which I may, or may not, forgive you later.

January 8, 2009

you ok? ever coming back??

January 8, 2009

RYN: How ’bout I bend over and you kiss my ASS! 🙂

January 10, 2009

Grrrrr…I can’t see the video on this computer I have in my kitchen…DAMN THEM ASSHOLES FOR ROBBING ME OF MY NEW LAP TOP!!!

January 11, 2009

so.. how you been? miss you

January 14, 2009

Ryn: Thank you.

X
January 15, 2009

RYN: Glad you liked it, but I’m afraid it’s not for distribution – Sorry!

January 16, 2009

You are a funny guy. Funny funny. You leave my daughter alone, Mister.

January 16, 2009

I love you. you should just know that.

January 17, 2009

RYN: that “truck”???? Are you calling me FAT???!!! That’s it….we’re done. Nobody calls me fat and gets away with it. DO YOU REALLY THINK I’M FAT??!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAAAA!!!!! You’d better make it up to me, Mister.

January 17, 2009

“TRUCK?” Huh? Oh! That should read T-R-U-N-K, with an “N!” Jeeze honey, TRUNK, TRUNK! As in “Junk In The Trunk!” Fat? Never! How could that be? *backpedal backpedal like the pussy hungry dog he is* *BIG stupid grin* 🙂

January 17, 2009

“Truck.” Hmmmmph. *pouts*

January 18, 2009

Hey Nunzio only a day and a half left of GWB Whooppeee! 😉

January 18, 2009

I did love how the guy got the chance to get two shoes thrown before anyone even stood up! I mean, what are we paying the Secret Service for if they can’t even deflect wayward footwear?

January 19, 2009

How cool to see this timer at under 24 hours!

February 12, 2009

Bravo to the guy who threw the shoe! Wish’d he’d actually made contact!