How would you feel if …

How would you feel if people of another country spent their time and energy to learn America’s national anthem … a country say, like France?
 
Have you ever tried learning another country’s national anthem?
 
Why, you say?
 
  

 
May 10th is coming.
 
God bless,
 
Nunzio
16638

 
Pangea Day Time Converter

 

Log in to write a note
May 4, 2008

Very cool. Thanks for making me aware of this.

May 4, 2008

Yo Mama is Enigma. 🙂

May 4, 2008

I looked at the calander today and thought of you – a week from yesterday

May 4, 2008

Thanks for reminding me. I need to make sure I show this to the kids at school and I’d forgotten the date. Funny isn’t it – how many national anthems do you actually know? I have lived in several countries and speak several languages… but I can only sing one national anthem!

May 4, 2008

I’m afraid that with a gun to my head they’d have to pull the trigger as I couldn’t even sing the first verse. Without a doubt the loveliest version of the nation anthem I have ever heard.

CW
May 4, 2008

I strongly dislike the fact that I only know one verse. It is patriotic to stand up and cover your heart and remove your hat and all that right stuff, but how many of us Americans only know the first verse? Thanks for sharing. =;p

May 5, 2008

A GREAT entry. When I first clicked onto your entry, my attention was immediately drawn to the photo of yourself, sans colthes, in a risque pose with that very attractive female. I thought, damn, Nunzio has really got strength and stamina for a 107 year old guy. Probably still has lead in his pencil unlike the rest of us old timers. Best I can do is barely pick up my coffee cup. LOL <P> Then I thought, what the hell, I’ll click onto that thingie of the girl with her mouth open. And I did. I was really impressed. Seriously. Our anthem never fails to touch me. Brings to mind…….”Lives there a man with soul so dead who never to himself has said, “This is my own, my native land”. (I can’t recall the poems preceeding or following line(s). Thank you, Nunzio, for including TSSB in your OD. Very impressive. If we should ever meet, the drinks’ll be on me.

May 6, 2008

I know this seems unpatriotic but I actually dislike the National Anthem, I would like to see America the Beautiful as the new one, it is easier to sing and the message is a lot better in my opinion. I believe I know Oh Canada but that’s because I watch a lot of hockey games and the British one is God Save the Queen sung to the tune of My County Tis of Thee… so I do know a few.

RYN: Wouldn’t it be Clare KUnt?

May 7, 2008

Ooohhhh I like this new color a lot! Wow.

May 7, 2008

ryn: just once daily? or several times? ; )

August 6, 2008

Well, I know most of “O’ Canada” mostly because I’m a hockey fan.

November 22, 2008

Allons enfants de la Patrie… Le jour de la gloire et arrivé… I learned the first verse of La Marseillaise in high school and I have never forgotten it. And thank you for the Pangea Day reminder.