Are you Real? *

I’ve written before, of the pain I frequently read on these pages;

the two strangers in a marriage that probably won’t make it one decade;

the young single mother, trying to make ends meet;

the substance abusing young woman who explains away her dependency as “partying”;

the obsession of many about their physical beauty that can’t be seen as they look desperately into the mirror;

the woman struggling against the approaching age of 40; 

good men who are thrown away as being “too nice”;

the woman in a marriage where she loves the husband who is good of heart and good to her, but yet she longs for some other path, some other man, some other life;

two women in a same sex relationship where they cooperate in their mutual abuse;

the woman who never feels she’s good enough, as a wife, a mother, a person;

the desperate, sticky, needy, "rescue me, I need you, you make me whole, promise me you’ll stay for life," declarations of "love";

the woman who, fully aware, knowingly destroys good relationships in favor of her fear of closeness and need for abuse;

the man who, overwhelmed by his responsibilities, chose to leave his wife and children, does not send them money, and moves every 2 to 3 years to avoid the child support police and … who cannot sleep;

the divorce, in process, where they say horrible, hurtful things to each other … this couple that promised to love and honor each other;

the divorced father who spends much of his disposable income hiring lawyers to manipulate the system to prevent his ex-wife from holding their children.</

p>

 

(* And on pain not registered here on OD pages; I just received a call from a friend whose girlfriend’s 42-year old sister jumped from a hotel room in my town last night, leaving an ex-husband and twelve and sixteen year-old daughters.)

 

What pain must exist in us that we would harm the people we love and … loved.

Why do we do this to ourselves? 

There is an answer but we won’t see it, observe it, nor change our desires to secure it for our own … It’s not that we can’t … it’s that we WON’T see it, until our pain is sufficient to overcome our ego.

 

 

 

 

Her husband, a white-haired man dressed in khaki pants and a flannel shirt, was small, alert and quite fit. He pushed her wheelchair with relative ease and then knelt next to her. He pushed back the sleeve of his shirt, revealing a very old tattoo of a buxom young woman – Betty Grable? – and stroked his wife’s hair. As he adjusted the plastic tubing for her oxygen supply, he spoke softly in his wife’s ear. Whatever he said made her smile.

 

 

As I peeked over my magazine, I became strangely jealous. Here she was, at the end of her life, physically debilitated and struggling. But she was not shy or embarrassed. Instead, she exuded a peaceful sense of certainty about who she was and her inherent value. It was clear that her husband adored her and cherished every moment they spent together. I considered his tattoo and thought of the time when he was young and probably quite obsessed with pretty women. And who knows, maybe his wife was once the girl who had fulfilled his fantasy. But in the moment I witnessed, what he loved was the true and essential person inside the body, the invisible beauty he may not have seen in younger years.

 

 

In the weeks after seeing that couple in the doctor’s office, I struggled to understand why I had been so envious. I had a husband who loved me. I felt good about my work and about my two children, Amy and Elizabeth. But I felt, deep in my heart, there was something that older woman possessed that I wanted. It was there in her face, and in the way she interacted with her husband, but I just couldn’t name it.

 

 

The answers we need often come to us at unpredictable moments and from surprising sources. This happened to me on a summer evening as I prepared dinner. I was in the kitchen, taking vegetables out of the refrigerator and grabbing pots and pans from the cupboard while my daughters sat together reading on the sofa in the next room. Elizabeth, age six, was reading to two-year-old Amy. Amy had her favorite blanket in her hand, her best bear, Lauren, in her lap and her thumb in her mouth. Elizabeth’s stuffed bear, Ted, was propped next to her. They had reached page sixteen of The Velveteen Rabbit, Margery Williams’s story, which was one of their favorites.

 

 

“What is REAL?” asked the Rabbit one day, when they were lying side by side near the nursery fender, before Nana came to tidy the room. "Does it mean having things that buzz inside you and a stick-out handle?"

"Real isn’t how you are made," said the Skin Horse. "It’s a thing that happens to you. When a child loves you for a long, long time not just to play with, but REALLY loves you,

then you become Real."

"Does it hurt?"

 

 

"Sometimes," said the Skin Horse, for he was always truthful. "When you are Real you don’t mind being hurt."

 

 

"Does it happen all at once," he asked, "or bit by bit?"

 

 

"It doesn’t happen all at once," said the Skin Horse. "You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen to people who break easily, or have sharp edges or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But those things don’t matter at all, because once you are real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand."

 

 

 

In the kitchen, I was suddenly flooded with emotion and understanding. The Rabbit and the Skin Horse, I realized, were talking about the difference between superficial beauty and the kind of Real, inner beauty that we all possess as unique human beings. They were saying that in a life well-lived, where we are true to ourselves, all the struggles and challenges only make us more Real and more loveable. Others can see this quality in us, and make us even more Real with their love and nurturing.

At last, I understood my reaction to the older woman at my doctor’s office. She was loose in the joints. Her hair was thinning, and her clothes were shabby. But she showed no anxiety, no shame, no worry. She accepted herself fully. She knew she was precious and irreplaceable. She was Real. She loved and accepted herself as a Real, and therefore imperfect, person.

 

The scene at the doctor’s office was made all the more poignant by the fact that the woman’s Real value was clear to her husband as well. To him she could never be ugly, because she was simply herself. At a moment when anyone else might have been supremely self-conscious, he was so Real that he was almost carefree. He had thoroughly overcome the superficial attitude reflected in his old tattoo and come to adore his wife for her deepest, inner self.

 

As the pages of The Velveteen Rabbit turn, the main characters teach us how to find the peace that comes when we focus on what matters most in life: love, relationships, and empathy for ourselves and others. The Skin Horse is a wise and experienced elder who is generous with what he has learned. The Rabbit is, like all of us, insecure and searching for his place in the world, a place he eventually finds in a rather unexpected new life.

 

 

As in so many children’s books, the human beings in Margery Williams’s tale are mostly oblivious to the intense drama affecting the toys in the nursery. In this case, the little Velveteen Rabbit stays with his owner – the Boy – as he suffers through scarlet fever. When the Boy recovers, the doctor insists that the bunny – "a mass of scarlet fever germs!" – be replaced. Though the Rabbit is discarded, it is not the end of the story. As he lies in the yard waiting to be burned with the trash, the Rabbit is transformed from a toy that was Real only to the Boy into an actual living creature who is Real for all to see. He hops off to live a splendid life with other Real rabbits, who become his friends. The words of the Skin Horse, who was wise, secure and content, are proven true. Being Real, transforms us.

 

 

 

 

 

Out in the living room, Elizabeth and Amy paused and looked at their own stuffed animals. Elizabeth’s bear, Ted, was missing an eye. The white fur of Amy’s bear was dingy gray. Its pink thread nose was a little ragged. The two stuffed animals had both been loved so much, and so deeply, that the girls agreed that they must be Real. What was so obvious to my young daughters – that you don’t have to be perfect to be worthy – was a revelation to me.

 

 

<s

trong> 

 

 

A Realistic Point of View

 

 Over the next few weeks, I noticed that the message of The Velveteen Rabbit had stirred some long-standing and painful feelings. Even though my life was good, at least as other people might measure it, I didn’t posses the confidence, the completeness, the self-awareness of that woman in the wheelchair. As a young woman, mother, wife, and professional, I was filled with insecurity and self-doubt. Every day I wore the facade of being sure of myself, but deep inside, I wasn’t sure of anything. I wasn’t completely Real.

 

An excerpt from, The Velveteen Principals – A Guide To Becoming Real

 

 

 

 

Who wouldn’t want to go back to when life was simple and a stuffed animal could fix all your problems?

 

 

Botox parties. Extreme Makeovers. “Reality” TV. These are just some examples of how we have lost sight of something so basic yet so essential to true happiness: On our way to becoming status-seeking super-humans, we forgot how to be Real.

 

 

This charming gift book guides readers down a simple path to reclaiming joy, fulfillment, and individuality, using an unconventional source—the children’s classic The Velveteen Rabbit. By sharing the timeless insights and poignant quotes from the popular children’s book, the author identifies 10 keys to becoming Real, with the promise that when you become Real you will love and be loved with all your strengths, weakness, faults and gifts. As the Skin Horse explains to the Velveteen Rabbit:

 

 

“Real isn’t how you are made . . . It’s a thing that happens to you . . . Generally by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes droop and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But those things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

 

 

The simple wisdom of the classic children’s story The Velveteen Rabbit can be the start of your return to Real. Let this book show you the way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
"Why do you not love yourself when I have told you I do, and that you are perfect?"
~ God ~
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

God bless,

Nunzio

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 14, 2004

you are too wise at times :)brilliant entry

November 14, 2004

Believe it or not, I’ve never read the Velveteen Rabbit….but I think now I shall have to. Thanks for yet another great entry 🙂

November 14, 2004

*bows* Wisdom is hard to find in days like today… and yet, here I find a warehouse of it for me to read. I will need to come back later to read deeper into everything. God bless.

November 14, 2004

oh i used to love that book.. when i was young i watched the movie multiple times daily. great entry

November 14, 2004

The silent reader strikes again with his keen observation and precise descriptions. Maybe you referred to me or not. But I see myself in two of those descriptions. I would love for you to write a description of me from what you have read in my pages. I think it would be interesting. Do you think it is a cop-out when we say that it is society that puts the pressure on us to be “perfect”?

ryn – aye. but what I’m realizing is…by NOT demanding it.. a loved one bypasses the ugliness of being faithful.. and I can see past it, and simply WANT to only want one person. and be wanted by that one person. this entry is perfectly beautiful, by the way.

November 14, 2004
November 15, 2004

RYN: Thanks for the info 🙂

November 15, 2004

That was amazing. ~rory

November 15, 2004

Very moving entry Nunzio….. Jeez, nobody said life was going to be easy huh? xoxoxo =)

Beautiful and thought provoking… as always.

November 15, 2004

interesting

November 15, 2004

Bravo, well said, I truly enjoyed this entry. Thank you.

You are perfect and I love you!!!

November 15, 2004

i’m constantly reminding myself that things aren’t as bad as I think they are.

November 15, 2004

This has always been one of my favorite stories ever.

November 15, 2004
November 15, 2004
November 15, 2004

your entries are few & far between, yet worth every minute of waiting time! Thank you!

November 16, 2004

This kind of reflects what I’ve been experiencing lately – like I’m beginning to become more real. Or maybe I’ve seen the tip of the ice-berg. The Realness being the actual hidden bit. Perhaps Realness is the Holy Grail we all seek. You’re so thought provoking.

Ryn: I know. Aren’t you supposed to be on conference calls right now?

November 16, 2004

Good entry!! I forgot to put you on my faves BTW, you never update!!! Oh yeah, your there now!!

November 16, 2004

Shouldn’t I know by now that your entries should have a warning label attached, “Don’t forget your Kleenexes.” ? Another beyond excellent entry dear Nunzio . . . well done, very well done*Mwah*

November 16, 2004

reading this to debussy’s clair de lune was amazing. thank you for sharing.

November 17, 2004

Beautiful…and as I read I wondered of myself. Am I real, or do I worry too much about the superficial? How well am I turning into that elderly lady? I wish there was some way to get a report card on what sort of human being we are. I would really like some honest feed back some days… bmh

Ryn: Aww, puppy. I wish you could take me to work and get them taken care of.

November 17, 2004

~looking up~ HEY! Since when are YOU Puppy?

November 17, 2004

RYN: Ok…now I feel better….an innocent head butt is one thing…..but getting dessert on your crotch is another… You crack me up 🙂

November 17, 2004

RYN: According to “S” you are….. Soo…do you whimper for her too….if she asks you really, really, nice….I bet you do….I bet you whimper just like a little p u p p y (sticks out tongue and runs away giggling 🙂

Ryn: Calm down, babydoll. (mmm, mmm)

You should go read Slapdash’s latest entry. Aww, my babydoll is loved by millions. hee! told you that you were a puppy!!!

November 17, 2004

What an inspiring entry. Thank you!

November 17, 2004

Woah.. Thanks for that.. Kelly

November 17, 2004

..amazing

ryn: Hot damn! Does this mean you’re going to share???

Excellent entry as always, by the way. Hope the readers that need this will not only hear it, but also take it to heart.

November 18, 2004

RYN: thanks for the advice. Without a great selection of lovers to pick from, I look at the 2 I’ve had. The similarities and differences are astounding. I shall have to think on this one a while… bmh

Ryn: Yeah, she’s definitely favorites only.

November 18, 2004

RYN: I’m sure your right….as always. Thanks~

November 19, 2004

People read that book and don’t get the message. You’re a good one to spell it out. *grin* Signed: A real woman, with real wrinkles, extra weight, and a real big heart..*wink*

ditto – i love this entry btw *smile*

November 19, 2004

WHat a great entry! RYN- I understand he needs time. However, on Tuesday, he made it a lot more personal (or, at least, I interpreted it that way.) I felt attacked. This is a different situation; one in which I had no idea existed until tonight. I deserve at least a little credit. LOL 🙂

I see you have a new picture on your front page. hmm. Nice fit.

Ryn: Not as unusual as you think. What kinda performance bonus?

November 23, 2004

give me a second to think about it babe….umm ok!

Ryn: Who has hurt feelings?

November 23, 2004

ryn: the settings have not changed. something keeps happening to my wallpaper. ryn: the referral is $25 *whoopee* It depends on the bank and the position. At my bank the commercial loan officers are probably on some sort of commission, but I dont know what it is. As for other referrals such as DDA, etc. it would depend on the institution. As you know, banks pay garbage.

November 24, 2004

your very last quote, i love that one the most.

November 29, 2004

ryn: hungry?

November 30, 2004

Love the new pic on your start page 🙂

November 30, 2004

RYN: YES SIR!!!! 31 days (starting tomorrow)….and counting (bites nails and begins to sweat)

December 1, 2004

nice. RYN: all right, all right. consider yourself added. 😉

December 1, 2004

RYN: I’ll take your bet…but I’m not wagering money…I don’t gamble that way…. You BOTH seem to forget that my “hard headedness” by FAR outweighs my sexual appitite!!!

Ryn: Hi puppy!!! Nothing is going on. Everyone is being good. Go back to work. ha ha ha

December 1, 2004

RYN on FO’s Diary: Why tisk, tisk….she could have posted the WHOLE pic 🙂

December 1, 2004

RYN: You sure talk a lot of SHIT for someone that hasn’t known me long 🙂 I’ll have you know I went over 8 months when I was married without it…and I was FINE!!! Kiss my ass…..I’m winning this bet!

ryn to S: VIDEO CAMERA?! *Tsk tsk* BAD BAD…..

ryn: OH NO! I’m much much to innocent for that! *Smirks*

December 2, 2004

Nunz, I say “needy” because he started calling me three times a day after the first date, because he told me it was “destiny” on the third date; and because although he knew I was on vacation out of the country with a non-working cell phone, he called three times and left “I miss you” messages. Maybe some girls love that, but I was already in a relationship once where the guy felt that if we were

December 2, 2004

not together 24/7, I was not calling him 3 times a day, and I needed alone time, it meant I didn’t love him. No thanks. I may not know what I want quite yet, but I know for sure what I don’t want, you know?

December 2, 2004

by the way, all this was after I told him that I thought he was moving too fast and he promised to slow down.

December 2, 2004

RYN: But you are right about the other guy… I don’t think I will call him.

ryn: Hmmmmmmmmmm… Didn’t I just say I CUT OFF questions? *Smiles* DAMN YOU….. knowing FULL WELL that I KNOW you KNOW some things!!!!!!!! Capitalize ANY in that next to the last one for ANY specific reason?! *Mumbles and grumbles*

ryn: *Places hand in your face* Yeah… Whateva!!!! *giggles* I’ll answer then… don’t you worry!!!!!!!!!!

December 2, 2004

RYN: Oh, shush. 🙂

There are all types of chemistry and it is important in all relationships, and essential in a romantic one. However, sexual or romantic chemistry alone can’t be parlayed into friendship. I don’t know if it obscures the “real” person, but it is not a mark of a relationship’s health. It’s more of a mark of a relationship’s potential, giving you desire to learn more and spend more time together.

Thanks for the compliment. But looking at your notes, you seem to have quite a few already.

Before I answer that, I have to know what you do with the panties once you have them.

Next write an entry about the happiness you see on some of these entries. It exists, I’m sure of it.

December 4, 2004

RYN: Um….TONS of sexual thoughts….I’d be lying if I said otherwise….but I’m still hanging in there….it’s amazing how many other things there are to think about besides sex, if you focus 🙂 So…how ya been? Aint heard from ya in a while.

December 4, 2004

ryn: Think I will call the base… He won’t give me an addy here, and just got a forwarding that is in another state. Tricky Dicky he thinks he is… lol Thanks… keep dry! :o) *hugs ya*

Casey LeighAll Your BaseStatic Ninjasee rexie playfmblng twds xtc That’s a good start, no?

ryn: I KNOW!!! *Ouch* That hurts a little bit already… *Laughs* But it’s what I NEED… so I’ll work my od into my day somehow! *Giggles*

December 6, 2004

😀 well a good night was had by all then lol glad you are still around…aren’t we due a little update???

December 6, 2004

ryn~ What a great idea! What should I use? Love the photo on your front page.

December 7, 2004

RYN: THAT is exactly what that means!!!!

Ryn: Rub my neck, my shoulders, my legs and anything else I tell you to for however long I tell you to.

ryn: I DID!!!!!! With the mirror!

ryn: I did THAT too!

December 8, 2004

Just passing thru, I saw you on one of my favs. Wow, very poignant and touching story. Gives everyone something to think about.

December 22, 2004

“Why do you not love yourself when I have told you I do, and that you are perfect?” ~ God ~ that is such a good saying to live your life by… i loved this entry x

January 25, 2005

wowie, look at your following

September 3, 2005

This quote from The Velveteen Rabbit is one of my all time favorites. I was blessed to experience such a couple during my nursing days……. it’s the entry in my diary entitled, “Under the autumn moon … or Autumn Moon”. It was the most painful and most loving thing I ever witnessed…. it is that element of love many never find. Hugs

Is it possible to love without needing?

May 29, 2006

So, I’ve been meandering your pages doing “research” as it were. Which has basically turned into me clicking things with titles that intrigue me, asterisk or not. 🙂 This entry is beautiful and poignant and I’m going to throw a “but” on the end of this… but, this line got my attention: good men who are thrown away as being “too nice”(cont.)

May 29, 2006

Seeing as I’ve only got a little over two decades’ worth of experience under my belt, I may have to defer to yours. That having been said, I’ve yet to meet a man who, if he was genuinely nice and good, got thrown away as “too nice.” Or, perhaps I should clarify that, if he did get thrown away it was by someone who couldn’t have seen the value in him, let alone their own value. (cont.)

May 29, 2006

I get that such a thing is a form of rejection and it’s still painful. But I think what made me pause was the similarity to “nice guys finish last.” A statement I abhor for its untruth. And, over the years, I’ve come to learn that truly nice guys know that statement is untrue and disavow it as much as I do. So, blame it on my propensity for semantics, if you like. (cont.)

May 29, 2006

That said, my experience so far makes me hesitant to believe statements of people being brushed aside for actually being “too nice.” Typically they either lack genuine niceness, but have all the surface traits. Or they lack confidence, which means they’re entertaining some sort of fear which will always result in pain and poor decision making. And, in that way, I suppose we’re all trying (cont.)

May 29, 2006

to overcome the same things. And, perhaps I’ve just mandered my way into the answer I was looking for. Heh. So, I’ll stop tangenting in your notes now. 🙂