Goodnight and Goodbye

You stopped saying goodnight.

And I stopped sleeping.

I was kept awake with the thoughts of maybe I was overthinking. Maybe you didn’t want me. Maybe you didn’t need me. Maybe you didn’t love me. Maybe you never did. Maybe it was me being naive, but when it started it felt amazing. It made me feel like I was floating. It made me feel like I was warm and protected. You made me feel so light when everything else felt so heavy. You made me feel happy. You made me feel understood. You made me feel appreciated. You made me feel loved. You made me feel. You made me feel when I had spent so long not feeling anything. You made me feel love during a time where the only notion I had of love was the kind I saw when spouses held the hands of their soulmates as they passed. Eternal devotion separated by the cold veil of death. You gave love life. You made me feel ready. Ready to begin again. Ready to love again. Ready to feel again. But I wasn’t ready for this. No one ever told me that love can just leave. Without reason. Even if everyone says everything happens for one (a reason). No one ever told me. But you did.

You stopped saying goodnight.

And I stopped having them.

Log in to write a note