Took Her To Her Death *EDIT*

 

*

 

 

 

*

The man at the Humane Society that told me they were going to have to euthanize Princess called me back a little later and told me something. 
He told me that he had took Princess out to use the bathroom along with some other dogs. He said she was jumping and tackling the other dogs like they had been friends forever. She was just full of life and that her’s didn’t need to be ended. So the people tested her for aggression and put a fake hand around her mouth while she ate and he said all she did was lick it….didn’t growl, didn’t snap, didn’t really stop eating….just licked it as she lapped up food in the process. I already knew that though.

After he saw that she was still a growing puppy, very loveable and full of energy, he called his supervisor and told her everything he had just told me, the supervisor made the decion to give the man the OKAY to buy the $175 heartworm treatment and start her on it Monday!!!

So Princess isn’t going to be put to sleep! The man felt something inside and knew this dog was something special. He told me he’d call me in a few weeks and let me know how the treatments were going. He also told me that in about a month she’d be put up for adoption and when she got adoped they’d call me and let me know she was going to a great home. The guy also told me that if it was okay, he was going to give my phone number to anyone that was looking to adopt her just in case they had questions about her ( i.e if she is scared of loud noises, how she is around kids…. ) and I told him that was fine. I’d do/answer anything so she could get in a good great home.

I know I seem like a very bad person about what happened with Princess, but yall don’t understand. I got her and loved her…and she is still cute, I didn’t give up on her becuz she grew and got ugly!! I didn’t give her up becuz of Roger either!! My class schedule started getting fucked up. It was to the point all I did at the house was get up, shower, and come home and go to sleep!! I felt bad seeing her down there by herself. My mom told me to get another little puppy and put down there with her….WHY? So it can grow up like Princess did? Getting fed every other day? (Although she did have fresh water everyday thanks to my dad) Hoping a squirrel will come out of a tree just so it could chase it back up? NO!! I couldn’t purposely do that to another dog.

Maybe I did the right thing, maybe I didnt. I do know that Princess is alive and okay and is in the process of getting treated for her condition! I honest to God feel like that man up there at the Humane Society saved her life. Well shit, I know he did….he took a chance to see her outside doing her own thing. I guess he was kinda like her little life saver. He even told me that if everything works out for the better, he might adopt her. That would be awesome to me!

And everyone lives happily ever after.

The End 

Log in to write a note

wow, that is so great! my old roommate and i had a dog and our class schedules kept getting messed up and we had to get rid of her, but then somebody took her from our yard. but it really is inhumane to keep a dog in the house all the time or chained up somewhere, it is better to give it up and give it a better life, honestly. you did the right thing!

September 9, 2005

awww! yay!

September 10, 2005

That’s good to hear, I’m really glad she’ll be ok. Idk, but reading your entries made me cry…I just have a big soft spot for dogs and stuff…but I’m happy she’ll be going to a good home.

Im glad Princess is doing so good..I know how college can be..Its takes up a lot of time.