how do you help with rape

How do you help someone who’s been through a rape? How do you convince… no… SHOW them that you can be trusted? How do you show them that you want to help them through this? This is something I’ve experienced. And right now I have a friend experiencing it too.

I think that all rapists should be put on death row. Rape is equal to murder. But unfortunately, the world and LAWYERS make it seem as nothing – like a small theft. But rape is like a murder of the soul, of the spirit, or personality and emotions – not to mention physical damage. It’s not a joke. It’s not for fun. And Girls NEVER want it. NEVER.

And girls aren’t the only ones who get raped. I know guys get raped too. And THEY don’t want it either.

So how do you reach out to a rape victim? I don’t know. But my heart goes out to them.

Log in to write a note
Jen
October 30, 2004

*random noter* sorry i have no experience/advice… just *hugs* 🙂

October 30, 2004

wow …I am sorry I don’t know what it feels like I hope never do and you are right about rapist they should be put on death row soorry again i know sorry won’t take the pain away but I hope it helps a little hugs and remember it was yours or your friends fault( my mom said that)

October 30, 2004

wasn’t*** sorry its suppose to be Wasn’t your guys fault

hey, its tough huh, i was.. well it happened to me about 7 months ago now, and i guess the way everyone deals with it is differnt, but for me, all i wanted was my friends to give me time, to not push me into going out again (it was spiked drinking) and to not try lecture on on how it wasnt my fault. I guess my advice is just hugs, and listen more sensitivley than you usually would, to give them

every opperunity to open up… but reality is, (was for me n e way), i wanted to deal with it on my own, and it was at least 3months before i really could explain it to anyone, and even today its still heaps hard. Im sure your friend will understand and tahnkyou (even if its unsaid) if you just be there for her, and be prepared to listen, but dont force her into talking. Good luck 🙂 hope shes ok.