Said we’d always try, as long as I just don’t do

I have the insanely deep craving to tattoo my body with other people’s words. I want to etch wisdom from a thousand different minds into my skin. I want my body to be a diary of where my mind has been. I want to be able to point to a profoundly exquisite string of words written by someone I admire and fall in love with the thoughts all over again. I want people to literally be able to read me like a book. I want to combine pictures with words and tell my story by simply taking off my shirt or stripping off my clothes.

I’m getting obsessive over this and I’m well aware that this could go terribly wrong, as I have an insanely addictive personality and I throw myself head-over-heels into everything I latch onto. I’ve been collecting quotes and song lyrics quite a bit lately and at the rate I’m going, I’ll run out of room to tattoo things eventually. This has always been a plan of mine for “someday”, but to be honest, my “someday” is now.

Growing up, I was always a responsible kid. I was pretty straight edge. But now I’m sorta finding my way back to teenage-hood and doing stuff that I never did back then. I cut bangs into my hair and dyed them blue. I’ve got a wrist full of braided bracelets that I never learned to make as a kid. I feel like I’m finally sort of free to do all of the stuff that I never felt comfortable doing back then and I’m pretty thrilled about it. The tattoo thing…that’s next. I’m maxed out on piercings, I feel, although I’m considering a tongue ring. I can’t make up my mind yet. Either way, I’ve finally figured out that this is my life and all of the people who have told me “no” or have said, “that’s a stupid idea” can take a flying leap. I don’t care if I’m “too old” for some of this stuff or if it’s not “proper” or whatever the case is. I’m doing it for me because I can.

When I finally find a job I’m satisfied with, I think that’s how I’m going to spend my first paycheck- a possible tongue ring and a first tattoo. It’ll be my reward to myself. I’m happy with this idea.

In edition, as far as tattoos go, what I’d kinda love to do eventually is get everyone I care about to give me a word. Then perhaps I can string those words into a sentence of some sort and I’ll always have you guys with me. Thoughts?

Quote/lyric tattoo ideas:

“For a dreamer, night’s the only time of day…” (Possibly etched into some sort of moon picture somehow.)

“Touch the sky and rattle the stars.”

“Eso si que es.” (Spanish for “it is what it is”. Not only is it a quote I live by, but it’s a nod toward my Spanish roots.) (Possibly I’ll be putting this in that white spot at the bottom of a tattoo of a Polaroid picture. No idea what the Polaroid will be of, though. Quite possibly something to do with Vermont, though. Sort of kill three birds with one stone there.)

“All my indecision
All of my excess
Don’t you ever tell me
I’m not loving you best…” (I’d probably put music notes to this one or have it written in a music staff. I’ll have to figure that out when the time comes. However, I think I might want this particular one to be the first because it’s got the most meaning for me.)

“Nobody told ya
This is gonna fold ya…” (Maybe the music notes would go well with this one instead.)

“Living in colour with a black and white soul.” (This one came to me in a dream years ago and it’s simply a way of saying that I feel that I was born in the wrong time and/or a potential nod towards past lives.)

“Entirely guilty by design.” (I have no idea what I’d surround that with. This may be a singular lyric that simply stands for the fact that everything I do is incredibly calculated. Nothing is ever on a whim, whether it’s what I say or what I do.)

I know there’s lots more, but these are the ones I have in front of me at the moment.

The only other tattoo I think I’d REALLY want quite a lot is something like this, but in a dark satin-y blue and black:

 photo corset-tattoo-765x1024.jpg

Log in to write a note

Those will be lovely tats. ^_^

October 1, 2013

I’d like to color my hair green, because I like color in general and that one is my favorite, but I don’t yet because of the (needless) trouble that would cause in my professional career (and by extention, my ability to keep my house’s roof over my head, at this time.) What are your favorite “profoundly exquisite string of words”?

“Touch the sky and rattle the stars” — I like that one

October 1, 2013

I don’t like the back corset one. it looks tacky and everyone is getting them. I don’t think of you a follower. i love the quotes. they are more meaningful xx