No harm, no foul, no crime

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these ‘all about me’ lists and I feel like writing, but have very little to write about, so I figured I’d write one. Game? Good.

1. The older I get, the less I’m inclined to settle for things I don’t like and I’m very quickly losing my inhibitions about speaking up for myself. I was never much of a boat rocker, but now it’s ‘me’ time and I’m done taking the back seat.

2. Things without closure bother me. Friendships ending, a bad ending of a movie or book, an open-ended conversation, etc. I want an ending, no matter what it is.

3. I very much value honesty. This one isn’t very much of a shock to anyone who knows me, I wouldn’t think. I don’t care whether I’m asking for an opinion that you don’t think I’d like the answer to or whether there’s some secret in your past that you want to tell me. It doesn’t matter to me what the ‘thing’ is, I would always respect you more for the truth than for hiding it to ‘spare’ my feelings or any perceived negativity.

4. I dislike when people assume things about me because most of the time, it isn’t true. I don’t often put my entire self out there for the world. I tend to be more of an observer, so I know quite a bit more than people think I do. And I’m patient. I will sit on the things I know, sometimes for years, until the other person is willing to tell me.

5. I may be a pushy person when it comes to having people listen to new music that I’m obsessed with or new art projects, etc…but I don’t push when it’s important. If there’s something bothering you and I ask what it is and you tell me, “nothing,” then you obviously don’t want to discuss it and I won’t push it further. Eventually people do come to me, but I refuse to drag things out of people if they’re not already wanting and/or willing to talk about them.

6. I feel like I have a lot of insight into the world and people. My gut reaction is 50% of how I get my answers and my head makes up the other 50%. What I feel in my heart doesn’t usually come into play unless it’s some kind of compassionate situation. But for the most part, I’m very rational and sometimes it gets to the point where it annoys people and I have been called out for it! I notice patterns in the world and in people very quickly, so I’m lucky enough that I’m able to get a good read on things fairly easily. If I can’t, it bugs me for quite a while.

7. There are several people in my life who continue to come to me with their problems, which I don’t mind! But one of them actually recently called me, “Miss Know-it-All” in a supposedly joking manner. In reality, I’m quite proud of that, because she wouldn’t continue to come to me for advice if I wasn’t doing something right somewhere. People don’t often ask people for advice repeatedly if their advice sucked.

8. I love anything that’s different and unique. I’m not a ‘mainstream’ kind of person, although don’t get the idea in your head that I’m all ‘hipster-like’! I love unique plants, like cacti as opposed to lilies, or my new ‘air plants’ as opposed to carnations. I do love roses, but my favourite ones are the purples and blues and even the black ones instead of the more traditional colours.

9. Vintage things make me happy. When I think about the past- older decades and previous centuries, I actually think about them in sepia and black and white tones. I don’t really think of them in colour! So I love those colours as well as vintage things and patterns from certain eras. I adore patchwork quilts and would love to start a quilting circle. I love paisley. I love the idea of train trips across the country. I love the idea of soda counters and saddle shoes. I’m just not made for the era I live in.

10. My philosophy to life is simple: “It is what it is.” The good, the bad and everything in between is what it is. Worrying about things won’t change a bad situation and playing the ‘what if’ game never helps. I don’t believe in regrets. What’s done is done. Never apologize for your emotions or what you said/did in the heat of the moment because those are honest and true reactions that you felt strongly about at one point in time, and by apologizing for feeling a certain way, you’re apologizing for the truth. (I’m not saying to never say you’re sorry if you’ve hurt someone. That’s different.)

photobucket

Log in to write a note
February 20, 2013

YOU are amazing! you always have been in my eyes! you are honest, kind, thoughtful and always there for the good and bad. I couldn’t ask for a nicer friend and I am so glad we made contact all those years ago through here xxx

*cheekrubs* I love you and everything that makes up you!

February 23, 2013

ryn: 🙂 you, my dear, absolutely dazzle. you always know just the thing to say to me; just the thing. thank you so much for being that person.

February 23, 2013

Hehe, you are definitely NOT a hipster. Besides, hipsters are tottttalllly into mainstream things. Imagine if a hipster got a truck because none of the other hipsters had trucks. Oh, the judgement that would ensue! There is a very specific way that hipsters are allowed to be unique. Oh, hipsters. I’m with you on being an observer. I think that’s why we’re both so into photography, and also why we get kind of frustrated by things other people do to sabotage themselves. But if there is one thing I’ve learned, it all looks way easier to fix from the outside. Sooo you say you don’t like when people assume things about you, but you also say you sit on things you know for a long time. Aren’t those also assumptions? I feel uncomfortable when people have made up their mind about me and have kind of… interpolated the facts. I love your love of vintage things. 🙂 And thanks for being such a great person to talk to about stuff.

February 23, 2013

I think your empathy for others is your one true contender of who you are. xxx

U r 2 kewl.