I like to think I can cheat it all

Oy…yet another lovely morning discussion with my mother turned to hell.

Here’s the thing…I don’t dwell on my past. Most of you know I had horrible childhood issues with my father being emotionally and mentally abusive. My mother, for some reason, either doesn’t know how bad things were or just chooses to deny it. When I was little, my father was a controlling, raging bastard. He used to back me up against a wall with a finger in my face, screaming at me over something stupid, like tripping over a rug and dropping a glass of milk on the carpet. Not ideal, no, but it’s not the end of the world. But of course, I used to get blamed that the carpet would stink like spoiled milk because I “couldn’t be bothered to clean it up right” and things like that. I did the best I could for the age I was. It was always, ALWAYS things like that which caused me to get into trouble. I was never a bad kid. I was too afraid to be a bad kid. I got good grades, I went to school, I read constantly, had a lot of friends, came home on time, never smoked, never drank, never touched drugs…you know…straight laced kid. But somehow, I was always getting mentally and emotionally beaten down at home by my father because I, quite literally, wasn’t perfect. I don’t know that he ever expected me to be perfect, but any time I had any kind of minor slip-up, it was grounds for berating and humiliating me until I couldn’t think of anything else to do but cry. I was sad, frustrated, humiliated…just…everything, and I had no way of expressing that. I couldn’t cry because he’d yell at me for that and then he’d tell me to get out of his ‘fucking face’ before he ‘gave me something to cry about’. Then he told me I was ‘showboating’ and at age 6, I remember asking him what that meant, while crying, because after hearing it 50 times, I wanted to know. He laughed at me and told me to get away from him. I remember I used to call my grandmother often, all upset, because I had apparently done something to piss him off, but I didn’t know what it was and he wouldn’t tell me. But after a few minutes on the phone, he would unplug the phone jack so I couldn’t talk to her anymore. I felt SO isolated and SO alone that I learned to just deal with it on my own. If I talked to my mother, she would tell me that I was exaggerating and that things couldn’t be as bad as I was saying in any given situation. She was usually never around to witness this stuff, but I don’t feel that I was a dramatic kid. At least, not for what I felt I was going through. I wasn’t prone to temper tantrums over not getting my way or things like that. I was only ever upset when something bad happened to me. So the fact that my father was cutting me off from the only person I could talk to who would listen and help me really got to me. So I eventually learned to deal with it on my own. I stomped down emotions. I became angry instead of sad. I was a horribly depressed, angry, rage-filled teenager who, once again, had nowhere to turn because I was too afraid to act out, because I was already getting in trouble at home and I was a GOOD KID. What would happen if I was a bad kid? At age 16, my father and I got into a horrific fight around midnight over the fact that I tried to wake up my younger brother to help me catch our 6 month old puppy who needed to go outside, and I couldn’t get her back in the house. He stormed out of the house at midnight after that and I didn’t see or talk to him for several months. Mom says he was still living here, but I saw nothing of him, which was perfectly fine by me, because he had threatened to “end me” three different times during that argument. So the day after, I was resigned to killing myself. I had a knife. I was ready. I was completely finished. I was spent. I had nothing left to give. I was drained emotionally, I was numb, I didn’t care anymore. I was tired. I had just had it with everything. I sat there running the knife over my wrist, just toying with the idea and mentally writing a suicide note blaming my father for being an asshole and my mother for having her head in the sand and not believing me. I wanted both of them to live with knowing that they were the ones who did me in.

Needless to say, I didn’t go through with it. But in my teenage years, I stopped talking to people about what was going on at home. I closed myself off. The people who were supposed to protect me were the ones causing the issues and/or making me feel crazy for feeling the way I did, so I blocked off that part of my life and I carried on as if nothing was wrong.

But over the last few years, I’ve very, VERY slowly started to bring up things with my mom that I felt was against me when I was younger. Every time I do, she rolls her eyes, tells me I’m exaggerating and tells me to stop dwelling in the past. I don’t dwell. It’s not like I live my daily life thinking ‘woe is me, everything is horrible’. Not by a long shot. It IS, however, a very big part of me that I continually try to share with my mother now and again, and I’ll admit that it still hurts that she doesn’t believe me or want to hear it.

This morning, she got all irritated when we were watching a home improvement gardening show on tv and I said, “oh, if Joey (my younger brother) and I ever did that to the lawn and put holes in it, we would have gotten into trouble.” It was a simple passing comment and mom got all offended, looked at me and said, “Why do you DO that? I feel sorry for you. You constantly talk about what bad childhood memories you have.” I may bring something up once every six months, tops. If a situation comes up when I find an opportunity to try to share the things that made me feel bad as a kid, sometimes I’ll take it, just to try to let my mother in on things. But I see nothing has changed. So from now on, everything was peachy keen. Roses and unicorns. Fluffy kittens and bunnies.

I’m thoroughly annoyed that I’m 30 years old and still can’t talk about these things without STILL being made to feel like I’m a terrible person for feeling like my father overreacted in a very negative way towards me when I was younger.

Keep an eye out for the next entry coming…someday. This entry gave me an idea.

Anyway, that’s that.

photobucket

Log in to write a note
June 14, 2013

You wrote that so well-I had a very similar experience with my Dad. It’s a subject that’s just not spoken about with my mom, but the fact that they are tetchy around it surely means they have some level of understanding that it was wrong? I think guilt plays a huge role with my mom- rather push it away than face the fact that she allowed everything to happen. Do you speak to your dad now?

Especially when you aren’t even bringing it up to discuss it. Maybe your mother is sensitive about not having done more?

I found your diary through Nectar, who is a friend. I’m sorry you had such a rough and abusive childhood. Some people should not be parents. The fact that you made it out of that experience as you did shows what a strong person you are. Your mother is probably unable to admit the truth to herself because there would be a lot of guilt involved to know that she could have done something but chose

not to. It’s really hard to have a good relationship with someone who is unwilling to hear your truth. I can relate to that, having had a tumultuous relationship with my own mother. Sometimes I think the most challenging relationship is that of a daughter and mother. I hope you don’t mind, but I’d like to follow along, and I’m adding you to my friend’s list.

June 15, 2013

what do they want to hide. once it is on the table it is done and dusted.

Ryn: That high school counselor you mentioned sounds insensitive, to say the least! I’ve done a lot of thinking about how much my childhood has shaped me into the person I am today, and it seems to me that it’s easier to move beyond the tramatic parts (or at least let them be) if I limit contact with my parents. Both of my parents were abusive in their own ways. These days I get along better with

my mom, but I don’t talk to my dad at all anymore. My mom is still challenging to relate to because she’s just so different but I know she feels badly about the ways she has harmed me. Honestly I feel kind of bad for her in a way, because you can’t ever truly make up for child abuse and that has to be a heavy burden to live with. Have you ever heard of the book, “If you had controlling parents”?

I picked it up awhile back and liked it. Anyway, I hope you have a good week! 🙂

ryn: Yeah, that HS counselor sounds like a very bizarre and even sadistic person (like he may have been getting some kind of twisted burst of pride stating what he “knew” about you, when obviously he didn’t know you AT ALL). And to say that to someone who has experienced a trauma, well it’s just unthinkable. I would love to hear more of your story.

You know, I watched a series of spiritual movies last night (couldn’t sleep) and one of them (I can’t remember which now, although I think it was one called Raw Faith) talked about how we all go through a “dark night of the soul”. I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately, how some of us experience it early in life…or in a series of stages. Survivors of childhood abuse have that dark night of

the soul so early that they are catapulted into an accelerated spiritual path almost, because they desire so strongly to experience the love and understanding they are denied by their parents. You’re right that abuse is never justifiable. My forgiveness comes in waves, and up until very recently I had been struggling so much with lingering feelings of intense anger and sadness in relation to my

parents. I knew that the emotions were old ones that I never got to feel in the past because of repression…they were washing over me and I was having crying spells all the time. I was so angry and hurt that I completely stopped talking to my mom for 6 months. I guess the thing that made me able to feel pity for her is that I saw that her guilt is so large. It is eating her up.

She acknowledges her mistakes on a deep level, and I think that everything she did to me is coming back to her tenfold now. Of course, if she had no conscience and didn’t acknowledge how she hurt me I’m sure I would have a MUCH harder time with this. I don’t believe she took pleasure in hurting me, but that she was simply an unconscious person and her dark night of the soul is longer than mine.

It’s a damn shame though that innocents have to suffer. And the way your dad treated you, it just makes me sick. He is obviously a person with a disease of the mind and spirit, and I’m so sorry you had to suffer that.

In the case of those people who do truly take pleasure in the pain of another, well it is my belief that when they die their soul is absorbed into nothingness…that their light has become so dim that it simply fails to reincarnate or assimilate with goodness and the Oneness. It’s a belief that comforts me whenever I am confronted with the knowledge of real evil.

Sending you lots of good vibes and sincere wishes for peace and serenity.