Had to go, had to fly, had to get away

It’s that time of year again when I start whining about feeling confined and needing to just get away. I’m leaving for Vermont for a couple of weeks with my father again this year, and it’s not even the same anticipation I used to feel when I was younger. You know how that is, when you’re looking forward to something happening, whether it’s a birthday, Christmas, a school holiday, snow days, whatever. This just seems more adult, more psychological. I’m crawling out of my skin with the need to be in a place that’s not here. I know now for certain that Vermont is the place I need to be.

I don’t think I ever admitted it, but for a while, I wasn’t sure if I was just idealizing Vermont or not. I only had family vacation memories to go by from when I was younger, and prior to last year, I hadn’t been up to our family’s cabin in 10 years. And you know how things are when you look back at them after a long period of time. Sometimes they seem so much better or so much worse than they really are. But after being there last year as an adult, for the first time in a decade, it still felt more like home than the house I grew up in ever did.

Again, it’s not because there are happy memories associated with that cabin. Sure, we had some fun times, but mostly up there, it’s WORK. There’s always something that needs doing, whether it’s painting the cabin, building things, cutting firewood for whoever uses the place in November, digging huge boulders out of the class 4 (insanely rocky dirt) road to make it easier to drive on, spending the whole time running around visiting relatives, cutting brush away from the apple trees so they don’t get choked out and die off, etc. It’s farm work, minus the animals. For a place that has no electricity, no running water and is a mile from the nearest anything, there really isn’t a lot of down-time. So it’s not that I miss being able to rest and relax either. Everything about it just feels SO…right.

So, with that said, who wants postcards? 🙂 If I don’t have your address and you’d like one, whether I’ve sent you stuff before or not, let me know! I’m also planning to head over to New Hampshire for a quick trip just to pick up some postcards as well, so I can send one from both places. Don’t be shy about asking!

photobucket

Log in to write a note
June 7, 2012

you know how i feel about your postcards. And I once had a good friend in New Hamspire she has now shifted to Boston xx

June 8, 2012

Aww, some places just feel more right than others. Vermont makes a lot of sense for your personality. If you move there one day, just make sure you can contact your friendies once in a while. We would miss you a lot! I hope you have a great trip, and that you’re there long enough to unwind and get out the stress of the city.

June 8, 2012

I know that feeling. 🙂 I’m glad you get to go.

I will count down the days with you, dear! I hope you enjoy yourself completely when you are there. & I wish I could go with you [seriously!]. <3

June 10, 2012

xxx

June 13, 2012

I absolutely thought the ally buttons would go first but people really wanted the trans* symbol most. Even the buttons that had the symbol with the word “ally” over it didn’t go as fast. I think it had most to do with the color scheme. .. That’s my thought. But some said our booth was the busiest and most well stocked of all the booths!! 😀

June 15, 2012

ryn: My mother was born in Mass. (dad in Tenn.) They met in Seattle, & came to this Valley & raised us 3 daughters. Two of my relatives graduated from Dartmouth. Our Mayflower ancestor was Mary Chilton. My sister traces Family Trees for people. I love New England, & would love to spend part of the year there; but no luck.

June 15, 2012

Would love a postcard from Vermont to put up on my bulletin board above my computer. HOw do I get my address to you? Via a private note?

June 15, 2012

Ryn: straight allys are always welcome at pride! Last year one of our allies was even on the center’s float! 🙂 I don’t think I have ever seen our group smile that much. It was really amazing.

I was going to say something, and my phone distracted me. Now I can’t remember what I was planning to say. Ah well, I’m certain it was fascinating and would have left you in awe of my brilliance. ;D

June 16, 2012

I was hoping you’d erase my address, tho. I know it’s supposed to be private. You’re very sweet to send me those 2 cards, but you don’t need to send one from N.J. You’ll be busy getting ready for your trip. I can wait. Thanks again for your thoughtfulness.

June 25, 2012

I feel a bit cheeky asking as I have been absent and not around as much.. miss you though xx

June 28, 2012

Rec’d your 2 postcards yesterday; what a thrill. Thanks so much. Wish you wd. change the color of our names; can’t read them.

July 2, 2012

PLAN: move to a farm and live there and have it. KAY? Kay! 3:) Mooooooooo! WHEN ARE YOU COMING baCK!?!?! I miss you. ~