a typical convo with dad

[13:03] kwosun: Good morning little Karsten
[13:03] KarrtheGreat: not little
[13:04] kwosun: I know, mom and I always talk about that when you were a baby
[13:05] kwosun: time went too fast for us
[13:05] KarrtheGreat: uh huh
[13:07] kwosun: like sevester stalone said in the Rocky Baboa, you used to sit in my hand  and I told mom this is the best thing in my life
[13:08] kwosun: now you growing up so fast and so good
[13:08] KarrtheGreat: is that so?
[13:09] kwosun: When the time comes for you to take the world as your own man, you did
[13:09] KarrtheGreat: and when was this?
[13:10] kwosun: somehow along the line you have changed
[13:11] kwosun: ——-I really like his talk to his son in the movie
[13:11] KarrtheGreat: what are you talking about?
[13:11] KarrtheGreat: that’s all from a movie?
[13:12] kwosun: yes
[13:12] KarrtheGreat: great, that has nothing to do with me
[13:13] kwosun: yes! it has everything to do with you.  I just let seveter to speak for me
[13:14] kwosun: i really respect sevester very much because he wrote and directed this movie
[13:14] kwosun: with a lots of human relation and life principle
[13:15] kwosun: those scenes are very sentinmental
[13:15] kwosun: reflect the changes of life
[13:16] kwosun: but his love for his son and wife never changes
[13:16] kwosun: it is my lunch time now
[13:17] KarrtheGreat: uh huh
[13:19] kwosun: I have welcome cassie to visit us for the christmas holidays and to stay as long as she wants. by that time she would mhave made a lots of money to have fun time with you.  She is very happy about my invitation.
[13:20] kwosun: what should be my lunch son?
[13:21] KarrtheGreat: no she isnt
[13:21] KarrtheGreat: neither of us are
[13:21] KarrtheGreat: that’s way too long
[13:21] KarrtheGreat: and she’s going to be very upset for the next few months
[13:21] kwosun: I can not wait for you to come here.  we will have the greatest ever for our vacation together
[13:22] KarrtheGreat: thanks for listening
[13:28] KarrtheGreat: by the way
[13:29] KarrtheGreat: i downloaded all 4 seasons of WKRP in Cincinatti last night
[13:31] kwosun: son, you are a very lucky young man and hasve a lots of good things ahead of you.  It is not my brag about my own son but it is the fact that you are extremely intellegent, good looking, good health, Ivy-League graduate and having parents who love you dearly. 

Log in to write a note
August 26, 2008

wow. it’s like talking to a wall.

August 26, 2008

or beating your head against one….

August 26, 2008

you should slip in something sometime like … Hey dad, I am a flaming homo maybe that will catch his attention?! I could send you our chat log from last night. He tries a little more with me.

Why is Cassie going to be very upset for the next few months? =[ Your dad is… …… …I’m sorry. At least he said some nice things about you? My dad has never told me he’s proud of me for any reason, but your father is obviously proud of you. =] He is a sucky listener, but at least he’s trying to communicate how lucky he feels to have you for a son in his own… way. Heh heh…*hugs*

RYN: That part at the very end isn’t from Balboa, is it? That’s what I was talking about… But you are right, the other stuff is just plain pathetic. -_- I am sorry for you.

You also have to consider not just what he said or where he got it, but his motivation for saying it. A parrot could say all that, but a parrot doesn’t have motivation. A parrot doesn’t care. Sometimes I use quotes from other people to express what I feel, if I think they say it better than I can with my own original words. I understand why it may not mean much to you. But even though he stolethe words from somebody else, it seems to me that he still did it out of love for you that he was having trouble expressing his own way. He cares enough to *try to* say those things, and I think that’s something nice. A lot of people have fathers who would never even bother to do that. Don’t get me wrong though, I totally understand where you’re coming from. Families have a way of making us feel like we don’t matter. *more hugs*

Oooooh, I see now. I didn’t get that that’s not what he really thinks. I completely agree with whoever made the wall comparison. I’ve been really curious about your relationship with your dad for a long time, but I didn’t want to ask you anything about it cuz I thought it might bother you. Mind if I do sometime? What are you up to today? Sorry I couldn’t talk to you again last night. I got home super late cuz I stayed late at work, and I have a 3 hour commute now. Did you want to talk to me more about living in PA, or was that just a passing notion? I am in a bad mood right now for an unknown reason. I think it’s a combination of being irritated by your dad who makes you sad and wanting you to feel better and being bored at work. I don’t get bored that often, but it sure sucks when I do.

August 26, 2008

Ha ha ha, man I love your dad. Seriously. Good man. ~WEAVER

August 26, 2008

That kind of makes me sad, seems like he wants to tell you things from his heart but can’t and so let’s Sevester do it for him. Did I say sad because writing that now makes it just seem bizarre.

August 27, 2008

And here I thought my dad was caught up in his own little world…. Cheers to you for managing thus far. Let’s go to Iraq now.