Divine Office (aka Glorious Mundane)

In a moment, Mom and P2 are picking me up and taking me to Oma’s with them.  I have broccoli egg-lemon soup, cheese buns, vegetable crackers, havarti with dill, strawberries, and a cucumber in readiness.  It seems like a meal to anticipate summer with.  (The birds sing … )

I spent about three hours scrubbing today.  Mostly in the bathroom.

I have a candle burning almost constantly on the table, or on the dresser in my room.

Music in the mornings.  If I put on the Monkees (vinyl!) before I start coffee, it makes everything fun …

Beauty invades, and I try not to think of lost loves.

I go down lists of people to call.  Rehearsal times and new students (in May? that’s a switch).  Subbing at short notice.

Last night, Miss Good met me for dinner in a seaside city, and then we went to the beach, wrapped in coats and afghans, and sat on a bench and stared out at the sea.  It was gorgeous.  I wanted to paint.  Or to compose.  Or write a poem.  It was a strange tryptych of almost clear weather on two sides, with indistinct raining clouds in the middle.

That should help me write a trio tonight.  I stupidly promised to have a new trio ready for my … trio … by Friday.

Log in to write a note
May 3, 2007

Ooh. Listening to the Monkees makes every chore seem a little easier.

Good music makes the world run smoother. 🙂 Will fill you in on my weekend of glorious music when I get back. S

May 6, 2007

Looks like things are going well for you! It also looks like I missed you in Montreal 🙁 But I’m coming over there where you are! I think. But not to stalk you! hehe. Are you doing anything on the night of Friday the 18th? I’m playing in a concert at the Chan Centre that night…I could possibly get you a ticket if you’re interested…:)

May 6, 2007

Miss Shivers, I am most curious … how dost one put egg in soup? In my experience, egg in liquit form cooks in the heat of the soup, and pre-boiled eggs tend to go somewhat slimy in liquid … and in the music category, might I put forth Michael Bublé?

May 6, 2007

oops, that should have read liquid, not liquit …

May 7, 2007

I always feel better after scrubbing. I miss the beach, though. It’s good to hear that someone else is enjoying it. Say hi to the little crabs that scurry from underneath the rocks for me!