Disability ie: government

Hi all,
There are times when I’d love to just be able to go face to face with the idiots that run our state and our nation.  I have been without work since last Sept. 2010 waiting on disability to come thru.  It was denied in Dec. 2010.  They didn’t think I qualified by the 3 months they went by.  So I appealed the process.  I have sent them diagnoses from 1994 until 2011.  I gave them copies of hospital records and I finally called several government officials that work for the state of WI and I said:  "so, you want to help the poor people of the state.  You can start by helping me obtain my disability that I have coming to me.  One official responded by sending me a Privacy Act paper and asked me to fill it out.  I called him and said:  "what’s that gonna do?"  He wasn’t sure.  So I said:  "you try living on $0 for 6 months and tell me if you could do it."  Then he wanted to know how I was making ends meet.  I told him, I’m not!!

You just have to wonder sometimes don’t you?

My grandkids are smarter than most politicians.  The politicians think about themselves and no one else.  They aren’t here for the working folk.  They are here to increase their wealth and greed.  I’m going to continue writing to the state officials until I have contacted every one of them and told them what it’s like to live on $0 for 6 months and try to make it.

Let’s see what they do about me then.

Sorry for blasting on here.  It’s kind of my outlet lately.

I’m still singing with the Platteville Chorale.  We have several concerts coming up.
Fond-du-lac, WI in 2 weeks.  We are singing Haydn Holy Mass.  All 54 pages.  That’s an all day event.  Then we will be traveling to NY, NY in June for a week.  We have been invited to sing at Ground Zero.  Our director wrote the music to these words written by Dr. David E. Miller.  "Towers."
Here are the lyrics:

Lend me thy bosom O September morn, for I have no other place to weep, to weep, for I have no other place to weep.  My tears wash the earth clean.  Weep, thou high and mighty.  Weep, thou low and weak.  Stretch forth thy rod and stike the rock.  That it may bring forth tears.  Hang the banners with black and crimson.  Spare the collar and band the arm.  Where is the Norn Mother in this whirlwind hour? Who shall deliver us?  It is a long time to spring, to spring, and long since lilacs bloomed last, bloomed last, and long since lilacs bloomed last.  Oh where, is the grass that covers all?  The woods are naked and the meadows sear.  The land is barren; the fields are spent.  What shall we reap in this harvest?  Stand above us one and all.  That we may look up in hope.  When shall there be comfort?  When shall solace confess her sins, confess her sins?  Lend me thy bosom O September morn, for I have no other place to weep, to weep, for I have no other place to weep, weep, weep.

************
Of all the music we’ve sang so far, this is my favorite piece.
This is acappella and here is the explanation to the meaning of Towers.

Lend me thy Bosom, O September Morn, For I have no other place to weep.
{ This verse is a pure abstraction.  The attack on the World Trade Center occurred on the morning of Sept. 11, 2001.  People were so shocked by this event that they literally ran out of places to weep.  There is double meaning to the word ‘morning’ which is a homophone to the word, ‘mourning’.}

My tears are like rivers to wash the earth clean.
{A river of tears issued forth at the horror and senselessness of the attack; but, no tears could wash away the sorrow.}

Weep, thou High and Mighty; Weep, thou low and weak.
{Everyone wept in his own way, regardless of rank or social standing.}

Stretch forth thy rod and strike the rock, that it may bring forth tears.
{The reference is to Moses who struck the rock to bring forth water; now, instead, the rock brings forth tears.}

Hang the banners with black and crimson; spare the collar and band the arm.
{At the death of family members, banners and crests were draped in black and crimson signifying the gloom of death and the glory of the resurrection.  Additionally, many religious sects did not wear collars at wakes or funeral signifying humility (as the Amish do not wear collars on their clothing to this day).  Black armbands were worn for a period of time following a death as a symbol of mourning.}

Whwere is the Norn Mother in this whirlwind hour?  Who shall deliver us?
{This reference is to the poem, "Lincoln, Man of the People" by Edwin Markham in which the creation of Lincoln’s fortitude of will is attributed to the ‘Norn Mother’.}

It is a long time to Spring, and long since lilace bloomed last.
{This reference reminds us that Setptember closes the Summer and Winter must interpose before Spring can arrive.  Lilacs are generally associated with the arrival of Spring and they are used figuratively here as Walt Whitman used them in his poem, "When Lilace Last in the Dooryard Bloomed", an abstract tribute to Lincoln.}

Where is the grass that covers all?  The woods are naked and the meadows sear.
{The first line refers to Carl Sandburgs poem "Grass", which is a tribute to those killed in the great wars; grass is a general term for nature and the passage of time which obliterates the scars of conflict.  The second line refers to William Cullen Bryants poem, "The Death of the Flowers" in which he compasres the death of a loved one to the death of the flowers at summer’s end ("of naked wood and wailing winds and meadows brown and sear").  But in this poem, we are reminded that summer will come again and the flowers with hail its advent.}

The land is barren and the fields are spent.  What shall we reap in the harvest?
{At the end of the growing season, the fields appear barren and spent; but, there is another season to come and with it, yet another harvest.  The question is two-fold: What have we harvested and what is to come in a future harvest?}

Stand above us one and all.  That we may look up and hope.
{According to the Biblical account, whe the Israelites crossed the Red Sea, Moses stood on the pinnacle of a rock that all might see him as the instrument through which God worked a miracle.  Since no individual can stand above this tragedy, each of us must symbokically stand so that collectively we tower above the evil and bring hope and purpose to humankind.  We look to each other for we are, in fact, each other’s hope.}

When shall there be comfort?  When shall solace confess her sins?
{Here, we ask how long it will take for the wounds to be healed.  Ordinarily, solace is the comfort of grief, but fomfort has a pparently failed her task because of the gravity of the loss; that failureis represented by ‘sin’ or turning against the assigned mission.}

Lend me thy bosom, O September Morn, for I have no other place to weep.
{The final lines repeat the opening lines — not to dwell on the tragic events, but to bring cyclic closure.  The key word is ‘lend’ which infers that there will be closure…. that there will be an end to the grief and sorrow and that we shall progress to greater enlightenment.  For, as September slips away, so also slips the borrowed place where we wept.

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2011

I hope you get the disability soon. Have you read the requirements for it? I have. Do you fit the criteria clearly?

February 18, 2011

Taht song sounds awesome and it sounds so fun to be in the chorale! 🙂

February 20, 2011

I don’t know how you are living.

February 21, 2011

I hope you get your issues with the government worked out soon! I think you are right that most politicians are just greedy. Also, thanks so much for your notes about the bottles! That meant a lot.